The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bandmin - causing errors on startup of bandmin - crashes ser

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jakes, Dec 1, 2001.

  1. jakes

    jakes Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I\'m having problems with bandmin.

    Whenever bandmin starts up it encounters the following error, and then the server begins to have problems processing packets on the network.

    -------------------------------

    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: Starting bandmin:
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: ini
    t_module: Device or resource busy
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters,
    including invalid IO or IRQ parameters
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters,
    including invalid IO or IRQ parameters
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin:
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: ins
    mod /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o failed
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: ins
    mod ip_tables failed
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: iptables v1.2.4: can\'t initialize iptables table `filter\': iptable
    s who? (do you need to insmod?)
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: ini
    t_module: Device or resource busy
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: ins
    mod /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o failed
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: ins
    mod ip_tables failed
    Nov 30 22:49:19 brutis bandmin: iptables v1.2.4: can\'t initialize iptables table `filter\': iptable
    s who? (do you need to insmod?)

    etc. etc.
    ---------------------------------------

    The only solution is to shut down bandmin.

    Can you please tell me what is going on, and how to solve this problem!

    Thanks,

    Jake
    jakes@pepjob.com
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Never have seen that \"device/resource busy\" starting that service- w/ that kernel version you can install the latest iptables I think.... have you tried re-RPM_ing that bad boy? Or from source?

    If RPM fails, you\'ll want to avoid forcing it- use the source install and then you\'ll see exactly what is fuxored up as far as missing links/libraries.

    That\'s where I\'d *start* at least....
    Could be something completely different.
    ;)


    Peace.
     
  3. jakes

    jakes Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmm...thanks. I checked ipchains (version 1.3.10, 1-Sep-2000). and the firewall rules are a-ok. However iptables are screwed up:

    # iptables -L
    /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: init_module: Device or resource busy
    Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters
    /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o failed
    /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: insmod ip_tables failed
    iptables v1.2.4: can\'t initialize iptables table `filter\': iptables who? (do you need to insmod?)
    Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.


    What is the best way to upgrade the iptables with cpanel? RPM a new package or recompile from sources?

    Jake

    [Edited on 12/1/01 by jakes]
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Iptables reinstallation of any kind won\'t fuxor up CPanel.... right now your iptables is shot to hell anyway so you might as well try the RPM first, if you can install it without forcing it due to failed dependencies, then you should be golden.

    Otherwise use the source install and fill in the missing libraries as you go, so you won\'t have this problem arise ever again.

    (fingers crossed)
    Hah

    :D
     
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    Looks like you have the ipchains module loaded by iptables is installed so bandmin is trying to use it.

    Just rm -f /sbin/iptables or change your system to use iptables instead.
     
  6. jakes

    jakes Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don\'t know whether Cpanel uses iptables or ipchains. I am more familiar with ipchains. What I hear you saying is that Cpanel is trying to access both ipchains and iptables at the same time? If so why? And what config file must I change to stop it from doing that (If necessary)?

    Here are results of iptables and ipchains commands:

    # iptables -L
    /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: init_module: Device or resource busy
    Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters
    /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o failed
    /lib/modules/2.4.2-2smp/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.o: insmod ip_tables failed
    iptables v1.2.4: can\'t initialize iptables table `filter\': iptables who? (do you need to insmod?)
    Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.

    # ipchains -L
    Chain input (policy ACCEPT):
    Chain forward (policy ACCEPT):
    Chain output (policy ACCEPT):
     
  7. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    CPanel doesn\'t give a flying **** about which is which... bandmin is the thing that cares and if you have it in your cron and are using it, it will try to use whatever IP accounting thing you have....

    Remove any trace of iptables and ipchains on your system, then install iptables (the latest from rpmfind.net, for your sys), then you should be golden. (Make sure Redhat knows your IP manipulator preference is iptables from now on to prevent confusion)

    Rock on.


    Travis
     
Loading...

Share This Page