The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bandmin password doesn't work???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rs-freddo, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am assuming that the bandmin password feature is supposed to protect
    http://my.server.com/bandwidth/

    Doesn't seem to on my server??
    7.4.0 s12
    Anyone else? or am I doing something completely wrong??

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So what does it do? Does it write a .htaccess file in /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/
    ????

    If i could figure out what it's supposed to write and where, I could maybe track down why it's not doing it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    believe that is correct write .htaccess file at the path you specified above believe you can change password in whm

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was wondering what that was for, very cool new option.

    I havn't checked if it works for me or not yet though, hope it does :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    It works great for me! :)

    E23 here.

    Brenden

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. MySundown

    MySundown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm going to sound really stupid here, but what username and password does it use to login? I tried my root password and it wouldn't let me in.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. MySundown

    MySundown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wait, I figured it out. You have to add a user to /usr/local/bandmin/passwd (using .htpasswd formatting).

    But something weird is going on with mine. The only month that's showing up is May (that's when the server was setup). Yet it's saying
    Any ideas?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK, mine is writing the "passwd" file but not writing the .htaccess file. Can someone post their .htaccess file contents...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    contents of .htaccess should be:

    AuthUserFile /usr/local/bandmin/passwd
    AuthName "Private"
    AuthType Basic
    require valid-user

    Just to answer my own question...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page