The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bandmin Question (500 Error)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PCZero, Feb 3, 2015.

  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    After setting up a bandmin UID/PW, I go to http://www.clientfdomain.com/bandwidth. and get the prompt to log in. I do so and then bandmin throws a 500 error. When I go to http://MainServerIP/bandmin I log in successfully. On my last box I believe I was able t use the first syntax to see the bandwidth data for each client's site and the IP syntax for the box as a whole. Obviously I can no longer do that.


    Wuestion is how do I set things up so that bandmin can be used by my clients to view their respective bandwidth dara?

    I see this in my search but (as I am a DFU), I am not sure what to do to rectify the situation...

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/bandwidth-gives-error-500-a-27017.html#post357989
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Bandmin allows for authentication from users listed in the following file:

    Code:
    /usr/local/bandmin/passwd
    By default, only the username/password you create for it in WHM are added to this file. What error message do you see in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when accessing it over the domain name?

    Thank you.
     
  3. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    The user listed in the passwd file is the user /PW I set up within WHM.

    [client ##.##.##.##] (13)Permission denied: Could not open password file: /usr/local/bandmin/passwd
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm under the impression it's by design that bandmin is only available globally, and not on an individual domain basis. However, feel free to submit a bug report for this if you feel it's a design flaw or a change from previous behavior:

    Submit A Bug Report

    Thank you.
     
  5. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks Michael. i could be mistaken but I could swear that on my old box I could /bandwidth for each account. I do clearly recall thinking that some of my clients would use that function and I am almost 100% sure it was when I was checking a particular domain rather than the server as a whole. Can you please check around with some of the development team (or whoever might be relevant) and see what the exact designed functionality is? let me know what you find out please and as always thanks.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I could not find any information to support the idea that bandmin is supposed to be available on a per-account basis. Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if you want us to take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks for looking into this Michael. I must have been thinking of something else.
     
Loading...

Share This Page