The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bandwidth Going Mad!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by purplepaws, Mar 17, 2003.

  1. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    On one of my servers bandwith logging appear to have gone totally mad.

    I have a server total so far this month of 248173.579795GB!!!!

    It looks like a few accounts have gone up by hundreds and hundreds of gigs in like half a day.

    Any ideas whats going on and how I can resolve.
     
  2. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Which version of CPanel do u use? There was an issue about this with the first betas of CPanel6.
     
  3. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    this server is running Cpanel 6.0.0-R108
     
  4. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    hmmm we've been having that same problem as well (we're running 6.0.0 s109) any ideas?
     
  5. Johnnie Nelke

    Johnnie Nelke Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    I upgrade mine to edge 6.2 ...... will let you know if it helped me with the same problem...... odd how 6.0 is only doing this on some servers and not others. Seems like some just have an overall corrupt install.
     
  6. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm running 6.0.0-STABLE_109.

    This server has used 67168.137297GB this month lol.

    About 15 accounts were suspended last night because they went over their bandwidth limit.
     
  7. Curt

    Curt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have one 1 out of 4 boxes having this issue. I opened a ticket but now answer yet. I am running Cpanel 6.0.0-S109 on all of my boxes.
     
  8. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I think this is an issue with 6.0 in general, actually. We're gettin hit by the same thing, and , as always cyustomers are complaining because CPanel's not dealing with their bandwidth correctly.
     
  9. Jorge

    Jorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got the same problem today, some accounts show like they used 1500 GB in 1 day :P.

    Anybody know how to fix it?

    I temporary removed the archives on /var/cpanel/bandwidth but I'll lost the real bandwidth usage too.
     
  10. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    this is going crazy! a little over 1/2 of the month gone by and bandwidth is: Total for [Mar 2003] 339691207.380683 MB 331729.694708 GB!! wow

    problem is i can't track (bill) over usages now.... need a fix soon!
     
  11. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Someone did a little script once to fix it...do a searxh on that problem and you may find it.
     
  12. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Since when has cpanel ever tracked bandwidth correctly? Hell they promised v6 would fix v5 and yet it still doesn't work, went from over reporting to under reporting bandwidth.

    But I've had a similar thing lately, had 2 accounts yesterday that logged about 5 extra gigs each. In my efforts to find out what the hell was going on the problem turned out to be an insecure php script the domain owners were playing with, which promply got HACKED and allowed whoever hacked it to run a crap load of stuff throught the TCP port and attack another one of our servers.

    You guys might wanna look into some of your logs. Especially with all the flood attacks against Burst, Rackshack etc. Possibly your machines have been compromised and are being used in these attacks (which would explain all the extra bandwidth etc).

    Just a possibility but it's worth looking into just in case.
     
  13. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    same here on 1 server, customers are getting very pissed off
     
  14. md201

    md201 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same problem here with 1 of our servers, the accounts generally using less then 500mb a month is showing 1443 gb bandwidth usage :D

    also

    there is one option in tweak settings which disables the account suspension on bandwidth exceed.
    -----
    Disable Suspending accounts that exceed their bandwidth limit (will clear all suspensions is disabled)
    -----
    you can use this temprorely to ovoid situation.
     
  15. Jorge

    Jorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /scripts/cleanbw fix the problem, but you have to edit it and change where it say 02.2003, for 03.2003
     
  16. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what exactly does that do?
     
  17. Jorge

    Jorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Fix the BW problem :)

    What you can do to be sure, is to backup /var/cpanel/bandwidth and then run that script.

    Regards
     
  18. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i ran this and it did nothing :(
     
  19. Jorge

    Jorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    did you edited /scripts/cleanbw and change 02.2003 to 03.2003?
    There are 2 parts on the script where you have to change that.
     
  20. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have done this and it has taken some of the accounts down to 0.....

    Will i need to edit this file again or will things run normally from now?
     
Loading...

Share This Page