The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bandwidth usage does not match..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by techark, Feb 23, 2004.

  1. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is anyone else seeign cpanel reporting higher bandwidth usage than awastats or any of the stats programs?

    I am seeing this accross several servers spanel is reporting much higher usage in some cases sites are using 2 ot 3 times their previous month averages according to cpanel but according to awatats it matches previous months usage.

    MRTG also shows less usage than cpanel.

    Anyone else see this months cpanel reported bandwidth higher than previous months?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 40444
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Uh, oh. I hope not. I just had a customer upgrade because he was using twice the bandwidth he used last month....
     
  3. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Yes I see this and it has a lot of angry people asking a lot of questions I cannot answer.

    I suppose I should know how to determine the problem right away, but that is fairly impossible.
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Maybe a recent upgrade issue because I checked mine and they are all fine. I'm on Cpanel 8.8.0-R73.
     
  5. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    perhaps. I am on WHM 8.8.0 cPanel 8.8.0-S74 on the troubled servers. I suggest staying where you are, or testing on one production server with (fairly) active sites on 74 to see if you can duplicate it.

    My suggestions should never be listened to, but if you'd like to see it, be my guest!

    What builds are the other admins on experiencing problems?
     
  6. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mine are all on 8.8.0 S74

    Just got another ticket from a reseller.

    The problem Im having is one of my customers, www.domain.com
    has been automatically suspended for exceeding bandwidth. The site has
    gone to about 1900 mb, the limit was set at 1000mb. Now when I check the
    webstats, there are no excessive hits or evidence of any massive error
    hits, any ideas how I can investigate this further?

    Nick please look at my ticket and investigate this.
     
  7. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I recall some previous threads on this subject. Quite likely, this may have nothing to do with your issue, but some time back I began to see a huge increase in some cases, and these were house accounts, which I knew had not increased in size.

    The answer turned out to be in the 'quota' program, because I'd added some backups onto a second disk. If I recall correctly, the quota program determines usage by examining the files on disk and considering the "owner" of the files". Because the backups on the second disk were in the same usernames as the originals, then as my backups increased in size, so did the reported size attributed to the users. Since I had set up a system which kept certain previous day's backups, then as my backups expanded in size, so did the reported user usage.

    I don't recall details, but the quota program has some configuration which can be used to exclude such things, and that proved to be the fix that restored reasonable reporting.

    One other thing related to this subject. As I recall (not always my strong point), the mysql program runs under a different user than the user whose database it is. And these databases are not stored in the user's home space. So it seems to me that a user who has a lotto database may have his usage reported as *less* than he's actually using. Whether other methods of measuring user disk usage (like 'du') take this into account, I wouldn't know.

    I think some searches here might reveal some of these past discussions.
     
  8. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Those were disk usage errors. This is a bandwidth problem.
     
  9. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    techark:
    Check the "Bandwidth" section on the users Cpanel (under Web/FTP Logs) - you'll probably find the majority was either via email or FTP (which won't show up in the webstats).
     
  10. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Already looked there and it shows it all as http transfer.
     
  11. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Uh ... right.
     
  12. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Thats the problem, that doesnt match up to what WHM is reporting, and sites are getting suspended as a consequence.

    I just got a ticket on it from another reseller myself.
     
  13. disoft

    disoft Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We've started noticing this too.

    I believe a ticket was raised by someone earlier in the thread (techark). Is there any chance that the solution could be posted here so that we can all apply it (presuming, as I am, that a solution has been provided)?

    Currently on CPanel 8.8.0 S74.
     
  14. HG_

    HG_ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep, please - a solution would be good as I've hit the same problem.
    :(

    HG_
     
  15. disoft

    disoft Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    More info on this:

    The figures from /var/cpanel/bandwidth for the user are as follows:

    Code:
    2.1.2004-all=18782
    2.1.2004-http=18509
    2.1.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.2.2004-all=1301
    2.2.2004-http=1028
    2.2.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.3.2004-all=41687
    2.3.2004-http=41323
    2.3.2004-pop3=364
    
    2.4.2004-all=1708544
    2.4.2004-ftp=916618
    2.4.2004-http=791653
    2.4.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.5.2004-all=292046
    2.5.2004-ftp=113160
    2.5.2004-http=178522
    2.5.2004-pop3=364
    
    2.6.2004-all=25266916
    2.6.2004-ftp=16275640
    2.6.2004-http=8990912
    2.6.2004-pop3=364
    
    2.7.2004-all=679
    2.7.2004-http=406
    2.7.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.8.2004-all=157216
    2.8.2004-http=156852
    2.8.2004-pop3=364
    
    2.9.2004-all=7835194
    2.9.2004-ftp=7133845
    2.9.2004-http=700985
    2.9.2004-pop3=364
    
    2.10.2004-all=5269091
    2.10.2004-ftp=26876
    2.10.2004-http=5241942
    2.10.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.11.2004-all=211223
    2.11.2004-ftp=36061
    2.11.2004-http=174889
    2.11.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.12.2004-all=983540
    2.12.2004-ftp=80461
    2.12.2004-http=902897
    2.12.2004-pop3=182
    
    2.13.2004-all=32540
    2.13.2004-http=32267
    2.13.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.14.2004-all=95466
    2.14.2004-http=95193
    2.14.2004-pop3=273
    
    2.15.2004-all=46872
    2.15.2004-http=46678
    2.15.2004-pop3=194
    
    2.16.2004-all=503929
    2.16.2004-http=498197
    2.16.2004-pop3=309
    2.16.2004-smtp=5423
    
    2.17.2004-all=1156588
    2.17.2004-ftp=152575
    2.17.2004-http=1000529
    2.17.2004-pop3=309
    2.17.2004-smtp=3175
    
    2.18.2004-all=305279
    2.18.2004-http=2886
    2.18.2004-pop3=412
    2.18.2004-smtp=301981
    
    2.19.2004-all=350605
    2.19.2004-ftp=26544
    2.19.2004-http=314832
    2.19.2004-pop3=103
    2.19.2004-smtp=9126
    
    2.20.2004-all=960408
    2.20.2004-ftp=12664
    2.20.2004-http=467811
    2.20.2004-pop3=206
    2.20.2004-smtp=479727
    
    2.21.2004-all=466132
    2.21.2004-http=465720
    2.21.2004-pop3=412
    
    2.22.2004-all=56385
    2.22.2004-http=53914
    2.22.2004-pop3=309
    2.22.2004-smtp=2162
    
    2.23.2004-all=1657931
    2.23.2004-ftp=166166
    2.23.2004-http=1323784
    2.23.2004-pop3=206
    2.23.2004-smtp=167775
    
    2.24.2004-all=2609218
    2.24.2004-ftp=24294
    2.24.2004-http=1141556
    2.24.2004-pop3=206
    2.24.2004-smtp=1443162
    
    2.25.2004-all=5419419
    2.25.2004-ftp=1301674
    2.25.2004-http=1297997
    2.25.2004-pop3=907188
    2.25.2004-smtp=1912560
    
    2.26.2004-all=640648
    2.26.2004-ftp=14345
    2.26.2004-http=626097
    2.26.2004-pop3=206
    
    Which adds up to ~56MB, yet WHM and the CPanel totals show a bandwidth usage of 1081.297219MB, hence the account suspended for being over the limit.
     
  16. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well the ticket.

    Greg responded and suggested I run a couple of scripts I did. No change so I wrote back and told him that.

    He responded the next day with it should work now.

    It didn't everything is still off across 48 servers.

    I responded back to him that is was still not fixed.

    No reply, I waited 24 hours and updated the ticket again that it was still broke.

    No reply.

    Waited another 12 hours and responded to the ticket that it is still broke.

    No reply.

    In short no solution and no reply.
     
  17. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    No reply on my ticket as well.
     
  18. disoft

    disoft Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the updates guys.

    Could raise a ticket myself, but I'm sure CPanel are aware of the problem now.
     
  19. WCW Fan

    WCW Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm getting the same problem here, CPanel 8.8.0 S74
     
  20. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    It is now a known bug.

    74 has it. If you run 74 you have the issue. You might not know it because it *seems* to be completely random. It only affects some users, on some servers.

    Ticket #
     
    #20 myusername, Feb 27, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page