The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bash scripts via php

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by djstudio, Oct 24, 2003.

  1. djstudio

    djstudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    there are bash scripts via php that either run as nobody or operator or apache when installed in a webserver

    how can this be prevented? any recommendation
     
  2. christi1

    christi1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Enable SuExec and they (php and perl scripts) will run with the user's id.
     
  3. djstudio

    djstudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    suExec is currently enabled

    yet it still runs as nobody:confused:
     
  4. christi1

    christi1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    It did that on my server also... try disable/then re-enable and see if it makes a difference for you... it worked on my end, though I think I did have to do it more than just a couple times.
     
  5. djstudio

    djstudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmmz~ ill try that
     
  6. christi1

    christi1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Also...

    In WHM -> Tweak Settings:

    Make sure the following is checked, in addition to enabling SuExec:

    Prevent the user 'nobody' from sending out mail to remote addresses (php and cgi scripts generally run as nobody if you are not using phpsuexec and suexec respectively.)
     
  7. djstudio

    djstudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    LOL enabling and disabling~ tried to do what u advised~
    still the same ~ :(
     
  8. christi1

    christi1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    And the tweak settings?
     
  9. djstudio

    djstudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  10. christi1

    christi1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Very odd.

    If we keep 'bumping' this every 5 minutes maybe we can get you a better answer. *grin*
     
  11. djstudio

    djstudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    heh
    i dun think so~ :eek: :D
    i have this cpanel since cpanel version 4 updating it time and again~ maybe it got cocked up somehow~
     
  12. christi1

    christi1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    lol ... I didn't mean the disable/enable ... I meant keep bumping the forum thread. :)

    *bump*
     
Loading...

Share This Page