The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

basic dns propagation question

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by vaage, Feb 25, 2004.

  1. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    basic dns propagation question

    So far (http://sitename.com) will display in browsers.
    But (http://www.sitename.com) will not.
    Is this a step in propagation? Will it in the end resolve with the (www) included, working as well?

    Thanks,
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That has nothing to do with propagation. The 2 most popular causes of that are:

    - www symlink is gone
    when you ftp to the site, do you see a public_html directory AND a www symlink? In some ftp programs, the symlink may look the same as a directory.

    - missing line in the httpd.conf file
    An account entry should look something like this:
    <VirtualHost xxx.xx.xx.xxx>
    ServerAlias www.domain.com domain.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/username/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/domain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName www.domain.com
    User username
    Group username
    CustomLog domlogs/domain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>

    The blue line may be missing.
     
  3. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've located the www and public_html directories residing within the same directory. So I assume its not the first thing. When you say symlink....that is not part of the name of this directory?

    Im digging for the other file now to test the second common cause.
    I'm not sure where that is though.
     
  4. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    where?

    I do not know where to access the httpd.conf file to check for a missing line
     
  5. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
     
  6. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    actually it is quite common for a ISP's dns to point your browser to one IP for www and another IP without. It is possible there are stale zones at the isp's dns servers. The dns server you are using for your isp may be seeing www.domain.com as different then domain.com. I see this all the time. In fact if you visit a site always with "www" and you make a server move. while www still takes you to old server without www will take you to new server. It all takes time to propagate.
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That's a possibility also.

    As far as the httpd.conf file, for some it would be at /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and for some, like mine, it would be at /usr/local/apache/httpd.conf .

    In shell, just change to / and use the locate command:
    cd /
    locate httpd.conf

    This would tell you where it is.
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Using an FTP program, look in the Account Root (one up from public_html) and you should see something near the bottom like:

    (yellow folder with red arrow) www

    or in Shell:

    www -> public_html/
     
  9. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm certain this was the case as it has "resolved" now. I guess my original hunch was correct though I had no idea of any technical explainations..........still trying to find that httpd.conf file anyways. That find locate comand ought to do the trick though. I assume that by using the terminal (im mac) with ftp access I may search all directories with that command?

    As far as trying to connect via ftp programs such as dreamweaver (which I'v always used and now am unable to connect with due to whatever reasons as result of new server) Im unable to browse my directories in such a way .

    Anyways ...problem(1) solved. thanks for the help all.

    By the way...any known connection via dreamweaver problems ?
    I've seen all threads located here and at macromedia and have still failed while following the steps provided (same steps as I used on old server which worked for me)?
     
  10. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you plan on managing a dedicated server, you would want to find FTP and SSH clients that will work on your local platform.

    Dreamweaver is a tool for content developers. You need the tools that can help a sysop/sysadmin, especially if you have to actually "get into" the system beyond either the WHM or Cpanel interfaces.

    Time, trial and error, patience, a desire to learn and support your customers will eventually make you "smarter' than your box(es)?
     
  11. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any recomendation for what software? Im a mac user so I know thats limiting. I really have little knowledge outside of whm and cpanel though I know of things that need to be done outside of those tools. I'll be providing a first client with an account and cpanel next week and am expecteing to be in way over my head.
     
Loading...

Share This Page