The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

beginner help on managing my own DNS?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by sarahw, Dec 16, 2006.

  1. sarahw

    sarahw Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi guys

    apologies if this has been addressed recently and i have missed it. i did a search but the answers were a little above my head. :(

    here's my situation -- i have a dedicated server with an ISP that handles all DNS pointing for me. so when i get a new client, i simply set up the DNS to point to my ISP's nameserver, tell the ISP what the new domain is, and that's it.

    my new ISP doesn't do that.

    they tell me that i can handle it all myself within cpanel. trouble is -- i haven't the faintest clue how to go about it. the cpanel/WHM dox aren't that helpful (i did take a look) and there's not much i can find on google specifically applying to my situation.

    what i would like to know:

    1. what settings i need to update/change in WHM
    2. what primary and secondary DNS i need to use for each domain i host

    is there a tutorial somewhere that i perhaps missed?

    thx heaps!!! :D

    sarah
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  3. sarahw

    sarahw Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey andy,

    thanks for the quick reply! yes - i had seen that first thread already, but it's unfortunately a little over my head. it seems that it's a more advanced config that's being discussed in that thread.

    i'll study the second one. hopefully i'll find the key in there.

    cheerz

    s
     
  4. sarahw

    sarahw Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi andy, and/or anyone else reading... i had a couple questions if that's ok?

    let's say i'm hosting my own DNS on a box called (let's say) myserver.net

    1. do i need to set up a new "DNS zone" for each virtual website i'm hosting on that box? (customersite1.com, customersite2.com, etc.. etc..)

    2. at the registrar for customersite1.com domain, what primary and secondary nameservers should i be using? ns1, ns2.myserver.net ??

    3. where are those values set?

    thanks heaps anyone who can offer any guidance here ;)

    s.
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If these accounts are already created, you need only to do is modify their DNS zones with your own Nameservers (NS). Did you create your NS with your registrar? If yes, did you assign the correct IPs to them? If yes, you are good to go :)

    Yes; login to the window or the admin area of the registrar and update your clients' NS with your own: ns1.myserver.net and ns2.myserver.net.

    What values are we talking about here?
     
  6. sarahw

    sarahw Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey andy - firstly - you rock. :cool:

    second:

    >Did you create your NS with your registrar? If yes, did you assign the correct IPs to them?

    i don't know how to answer these two questions so i assume the answer is 'no' to both? :eek:

    the DNS settings for myserver.net at my registrar (continuing my naming convention from below) are set to ns1.myNEWisp.com and ns2.myNEWisp.com...

    cheers

    s
     
  7. buskerud

    buskerud Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you fix your problem ??

    I have the same problem...any luck ??

    Bjorn
     
  8. UBERHOST

    UBERHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California, US
    Your domain name registrar for "myNEWisp.com" should have a means of registering ns1/ns2 for that name. The only registrar I can think of that does not do this is 1and1, so look around your domain control panel for nameserver settings, then provide the IPs that you are using in cPanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page