The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best OS for dedicted server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Xenon101, Oct 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm looking to purchase a dedicated server of the following spec:
    AMD 2600XP+
    512Mb DDR Ram
    40GB SATA HDD

    I have been having some problems with my VPS hosting cPanel/WHM on CentOS 3.4 whereby cpsrvd fails all the time and there's a whole lot of problems with virtuozzos filesystems that I can't be bothered going into.

    I have been told that running RedHat 7.2 or 7.3 (not 8.0 or 9.0??) would help with my cpsrvd problems, does anyone from cPanel know? I do remember back in the days of RH7 I could have a cP box up with 500mhz cpu (my vps has quad xeon 2.8ghz) 256mb ram (my vps has 384mb) and cpsrvd wouldn't die all the time.

    Any ext2 filesystem will do.

    So any recommendations? It's a production box for hosting clients so can't have all the problems I'm having now
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    My vote would still be for CentOS

    I am not sure what your current problem is with running a VPS with Virtuozzo & CentOS
    I run many VPS's with Centos 3.5 there is nerver a problem with them ?? run perfect :)
     
  3. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I too use CentOS 3.5 and have a wonderful time with it.

    Whatever issues you're currently experiencing are less likely down to the OS and more likely down to the fact that you're operating from within a VPS environment.
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Also if this is a production server I would not even entertain the idea of running RH7.3 or any of the legacy, non-supported, security flawed O/S's.

    My vote for you is CentOS or RHE.
     
  5. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Problems I'm having

    • cpsrvd dies far too often and requires a reboot (not just a service cpanel restart)
    • disk quotas don't show up at all in cpanel in some accounts
    • accounts with over 750mb free disk space say quota full?


    I love RHE, really, same goes for CentOS. But this VPS has really changed my mind :(
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Those are all problems of the VPS software and not the OS. CentOS is definitely the better choice unless you want RH support and then RHE would be the way to go, unless you prefer FreeBSD of course.
     
  7. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Speaking of the VPS problems, is there any way to get them fixed for now as im getting so many complaints ive had to make a known bugs in our linux hosting page :(

    And as for the dedi i recon i'll go with CentOS 4.* (whatevers newest release)
     
  8. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    IF you have used the /scripts/fixquotas and it did not repair it :confused:
    I am not sure what else to tell you to try

    All my VPS's are reporting quotas correctly in WHM and inside cpanel
     
  9. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have ran that script at least 20 times in the last few days. WHM reports correct usage under modify quotas but not cPanel.
     
  10. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just and idea your quota rpm may de outdated or incompatable with the ver of OS your operating

    Fix the quotas at the hardware node and reistall then in your VE

    If its not your VPS server have your provider do it thats what you pay them for :)
     
  11. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm guessing then that it is possible to run a vps without these problems.

    It's not my physical server if that's what you mean i'll give the guys a bell but i pay so little i feel bad everytime i ask them to do anything :p
     
  12. pleasecomeagain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Amiga Workbench 2.0.. arrr memories.. but since this isn't the 80's.. I'd recommend CentOS. Haven't had a problem with it.
     
  13. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pleasecomeagain, did you notice you bumped a 2 year old thread?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page