The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best way to install 619MB mysql database?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Izkabola, Jul 27, 2006.

  1. Izkabola

    Izkabola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello-

    I was wondering what way would be the best to install a 619MB database? I have tried shell, but I got this error:

    I then found a php program called Big Dump, however is lost a connection to the database.

    Am I just out of luck? Please give suggestions. Thanks in advanced!
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    In what format is the database you're trying to import?

    If it's just a text-based SQL dump you could just open the file in a text editor (after waiting a while) and separate it out into further separate text files - one for table structure and a few for table data.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What's the command you're using to restore it?

    MySQL server has gone away
    Are you restoring from your computer or from localhost?
     
  4. deborahgsmith

    deborahgsmith Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    I just pulled in a pretty big SQL file from my local desktop this morning. First I created a DB and added a user in cPanel. Then I gzipped the SQL file to make it a bit smaller and then did the import via phpMyAdmin as usual while crossing my fingers. After some time phpMyAdmin returned that the time out had been reached and that if I wanted to continue the import that I should get the same file again and it will just pick up where it left off.

    How cool is that? When did they add that feature in there?

    So, I just watched for it to hit the time out, reimported the same file like it told me to do, and then after five or six rounds it was all done.

    Check it out in phpMyAdmin by choosing a database and then going into the Import Tab. There is a disclaimer in there about breaking transactions but I didnt see any problems. Nothing ventured and all ... and this sure beats the way I used to do it which was to break it into pieces like webignition mentioned.

    Nice feature that. Havent noticed it before (prolly because I havent pulled in a DB in awhile).

    HTH,
    Deborah
     
  5. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
  6. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
Loading...

Share This Page