The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best Way To redirect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by phoenixweb, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. phoenixweb

    phoenixweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi everybody.

    I sell Hosting and Domains.
    Sometimes my customers just want only the domain and we offert to point it to theme host.

    If the customer have his own DNS zone, this is easy, i can change the Nameserver record at the registry, but if they own just a space and they give me a URL, how can i do it?

    I have tried to POINT A DOMAIN function but it seems to do not work.
    After point a domain out from my server i tried to go to EDIT DNS and i see that anything were changed... maybe it's matter of time.

    Most of time i have solved creating a full account with just 1 mega and setting from the cpanel's account (and not from the WHM) a redirection to the URL submitted from my customer.

    I think there should be a better way to just redirect a domain to an URL making WHM just the DNS zone configurator. I really don't want to open an account for all my redirect.

    Thank you for read me,
    and sorry for my bad english

    Max
     
  2. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    in this case you should need add dns zone. you will need indicate ip's and domain name and then just edit appropriate dns zone. you will not have account on your server for customer domain but you will have dns zone for his domain. your server will used in this case only as dns server.
     
  3. phoenixweb

    phoenixweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    Okey... i thought that the solution could be that.
    However... i edit DNS only 2 times in my life.

    I saw that it's no complex but however i don't know what i have to do.
    What should i edit for a correct redirect to an URL?

    Can i also redirect email to a specific email account or i couldn't (it's not really important).
     
  4. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    if you need point domain just to another ips it will easy. just open dns zone for this domain and replace A type records wher eindicated your ip's with correct customer ip's. generally speaking this will redirect all request (include mails) to customer ip's and you shouldn't worry about further.
     
  5. phoenixweb

    phoenixweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  6. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    ah, i see. in this case you only have option - create account and then usr mod_rewrite rules for redirecting to url. just becasue with dns you can't redirect domain to url, only to another ip or domain.
     
  7. phoenixweb

    phoenixweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    okey.

    So i have to:

    CREATE AN ACCOUNT
    REWRITE httacces. USING MOD_REWRITE TO REDIRECT?

    Is it?
     
  8. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    yes, you are correct. you also may just use cpanel redirect function for this. it is do same but automatically and you don't need learn mod_rewrite rules...
     
  9. phoenixweb

    phoenixweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    the fact is that we have programmed a automated site.
    It does everything on his own WHM incluse.
    Hovewer i saw that there aren't connection API to Cpanel Domain Module.

    So i prefer htaccess instead Cpanel user interface cause i can do automate it and not manually.

    But if there are a API Cpanel module to single Cpanel domain i prefer. is there?
     
  10. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    cpanel API allow using all functions which you have as root user. i am not big specialist in cpanel API but i am sure it is possible.
     
Loading...

Share This Page