The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Big Files+FTP = Bad?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JakReloaded, Apr 23, 2005.

  1. JakReloaded

    JakReloaded Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Everyone,

    You will have to excuse my crazy ammount of recent questions but we just upgraded to a dedicated box so are still getting use to some of the new cool features we have :D.

    Anyway onto my weired FTP issue, im using Pure-FTPD as the server and Bullet PRoof FTP Client to upload my files with. Now the weird thing is when ever i try to upload any file which is a little larger than normal say like 10Mb or so it keeps failing, and i dont know why.

    Here is the error BulletProof FTP tells me:

    Now it is uploading to the right directory as everything else uploads a treat except for larger files of any kind...any ideas whats so bad?

    Cheers
    JakReloaded
     
  2. JakReloaded

    JakReloaded Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Just an update,

    It seems now if i upload any file i get this error. Does anyone have any ideas?

    Cheers
    JakReloaded
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The only suggestion that I could suggest would be to try switching to proftpd and see if the problem goes away. You could then try switching back again to pureftpd.
     
  4. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It sounds to me it could possiibly be a passive ftp issue.

    Do you have passive ftp connections enabled in your ftp client and also do you have a firewall on that server? You may need to open more ports for the passive ports if you do.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Unless you have an SPI firewall like APF of course, then there would b no need to open any ethereal ports at all for PASV mode.
     
  6. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    True, I have seen this issue a lot however where clients have switched from proftpd to pure-ftpd who are using iptables scripts or haven't enabled passive connections within their ftp clients.
     
Loading...

Share This Page