The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

big problem with owners in scripts joomla

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by richenou, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi

    here s my problem

    my users install scripts like dotclear or joomla

    but they get a problem with the owner of files

    drwxr-xr-x 3 nobody nobody 4096 Oct 11 07:46 dotsound/
    drwxrwxrwx 5 nobody nobody 4096 Dec 14 10:23 gallery/
    drwxrwxrwx 2 nobody nobody 4096 Oct 11 07:28 mysql/
    drwxrwxrwx 5 nobody nobody 4096 Dec 13 22:16 weather/

    it must be like this:

    drwxr-xr-x 3 famill famill 4096 Oct 11 07:46 dotsound/
    drwxrwxrwx 5 famill famill 4096 Dec 14 10:23 gallery/
    drwxrwxrwx 2 famill famill 4096 Oct 11 07:28 mysql/
    drwxrwxrwx 5 famill famill 4096 Dec 13 22:16 weather/

    they havent ssh access on this server... :(


    when they install the script apache change the owner:group of their files and directories..and they cant remove or edit it...

    how to do for Apache doesnt change this?

    thanks a lot
     
  2. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    chown the files back to the owner. Then they will have the ability to delete or rename the files/folder
     
  3. darren.nolan

    darren.nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    A better solution would be to user suphp - which makes PHP run as their username (for their sites) rather than the default "nobody".

    This means when Joomla creates files, or a user uploads a component through Joomla, instead of the files being owned by nobody - it will be owned as expected their username.
     
  4. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes of course neutro but I have 10 000 users :)
    I can't change the owner each time because I have not time for this...

    suphp is very complicated because there are a lot a problem with .htacces of my users...they want to be able to modify it....etc


    thanks anyway
     
  5. darren.nolan

    darren.nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    And that's a problem with suphp how? I don't follow. :confused:

    Edit: You could write a script to chown everyone's directories back to them once a night or something similar
    Edit 2: I do believe that in Joomla settings, you can ask scripts to chown files for you
     
    #5 darren.nolan, Dec 16, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    suPHP uses PHP via CGI. Thus special settings in .htaccess for the PHP Application are worthless.
     
  7. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, but they can be accomplished with a local php.ini file.. unless I miss the point?

    For instance,

    In .htaccess, I have
    <Files ".ht*">
    deny from all
    </Files>
    <Files "*.ini">
    deny from all
    </Files>
    suPHP_ConfigPath /home/user/public_html

    In php.ini
    upload_max_filesize = 5M
    session.use_trans_sid = 0
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, we are just thinking of different points. The special settings in .htaccess would need migrated to a local php.ini file. Joomla wouldn't know how to set those in the php.ini file, thus the user would lose the 'nice' interface to configuring those settings.

    What those settings are, I don't know as I don't use Joomla.
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Joomla allows you to control php.ini settings within their interface. The main purpose of this functionality appears to be ensuring register_globals is disabled. Joomla likes to harden the directories in which it operates against anything that could assist hackers.

    I've never tried disabling this particular functionality, but I believe if register_globals is disabled on the server, Joomla should continue functioning without error so long as you don't try to edit php.ini settings via Joomla.

    No guarantees, just speaking from my experience of using Joomla on cPanel/WHM systems.
     
  10. darren.nolan

    darren.nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is still an option in recent versions of Joomla that try to chown any file/directory it creates to the appropriate username. Does this not work?
     
  11. rgpayne

    rgpayne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I too would love for some answers on this as it is an issue for me too

    How do other host setup to be able to host joomla accounts
     
  12. darren.nolan

    darren.nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm under the impression that the latest version of Joomla now uses FTP (as well as all it's previous methods) to create it's files, removing the problem of Nobody files/directories left on your server.

    Check it out. :)
     
  13. rbjb

    rbjb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We solved this problem by manually installing PHPsuexec. Suexec was turned on. But, PHPsuexec solved the problem.

    Ray
     
  14. zoltanpaszinger

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can somebody write me how this scripts look like?
     
Loading...

Share This Page