The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Big problem with usrquota.Please help ASAP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by the_bobara, Jun 22, 2005.

  1. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, i have a problem with usrquotas.
    so when somebody want to add email or something else cpanel says that disk is full, but it isn`t.
    the result of /scripts/fixquotas is:
    Code:
    Installing Default Quota Databases...../aquota.user..../quota.user..../backup/aquota.user..../backup/quota.user..../boot/aquota.user..../boot/quota.user..../home/aquota.user..../home/quota.user..../tmp/aquota.user..../tmp/quota.user..../usr/aquota.user..../usr/quota.user..../var/aquota.user..../var/quota.user.....Done
    Quotas are now on
    Updating Quota Files......
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda2 [/] done
            quotacheck: Checked 1075 directories and 28870 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sdb1 [/home] done
            quotacheck: Checked 5435 directories and 100367 files
            quotacheck: Cannot rename new quotafile /home/aquota.user.new to name /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda5 [/usr] done
            quotacheck: Checked 14863 directories and 219666 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda6 [/var] done
            quotacheck: Checked 633 directories and 7127 files
    
    
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda2 [/] done
            quotacheck: Checked 1075 directories and 28870 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sdb1 [/home] done
            quotacheck: Checked 5435 directories and 100368 files
            quotacheck: Cannot rename new quotafile /home/quota.user.new to name /home/quota.user: Operation not permitted
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda5 [/usr] done
            quotacheck: Checked 14863 directories and 219666 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda6 [/var] done
            quotacheck: Checked 633 directories and 7129 files
    
    ....Done
    chmod: changing permissions of `/home/quota.user': Operation not permitted
    chmod: changing permissions of `/home/aquota.user': Operation not permitted
    Note: call resetquota with --useplanquotas to reset all quotas to plan defaults
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for bgwap to 400 Meg....Done
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for bgweb to 500 Meg....Done
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for bobby to 0 Meg....Done
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for boxsub to 0 Meg....Done
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for design to 0 Meg....Done
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for domains to 0 Meg....Done
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for fhhost to 1000 Meg....Done
    edquota: Can't open quotafile /home/aquota.user: Operation not permitted
    Resetting quota for firmiteb to 0 Meg....Done
    ................and that for all users
    
    i tried many things that i saw in this forum but nothing helped
    please tell me what to do

    box info:
    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-R82

    CentOS 3.5 i686
    -------------
    please help
    p.s. excuse me for my english
     
  2. adept2003

    adept2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ~ "/(extra|special)/data"
    For a start, I'm not sure if the quota files should be located in the /home directory...

    Try upgrading to the latest EDGE build within WHM. Then click "Update Backend Scripts" from within WHM. Then run /scripts/fixquotas while logged in as root. If it still doesn't work, then:

    1) Make sure you're logged in as root (su)
    2) # cd /home
    3) # ls -all
    4) Check the ownership and permissions of the files quota.user and aquota.user by looking at the listing that appear. The files in question should look something like this:
    -rwxr--r-- 1 root root 6144 Jun 22 22:16 aquota.user*
    -rwxr--r-- 1 root root 32 Jun 22 22:16 quota.user*

    Let me know what the screen output looks like for these files.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You should also post the contents of /etc/fstab
     
  4. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    after ls -all:
    Code:
    drwx--x--x   31 root     root         4096 Jun 23 00:30 ./
    drwxr-xr-x   21 root     root         1024 Jun 23 04:02 ../
    -rwxr--r--    1 root     root        18432 Jun 23 00:29 aquota.user*
    -rw-------    1 root     root        13312 Jun 23 00:29 aquota.user.new
    -rwxr--r--    1 root     root      1278656 Jun 23 00:29 quota.user*
    -rw-------    1 root     root      1024736 Jun 23 00:30 quota.user.new
    
    contents of /etc/fstab:
    Code:
    LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults,usrquota        1 1
    LABEL=/backup           /backup                 ext3    defaults        1 2
    LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    LABEL=/home             /home                   ext3    defaults,usrquota        1 2
    none                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    none                    /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    LABEL=/tmp              /tmp                    ext3    defaults        1 2
    LABEL=/usr              /usr                    ext3    defaults,usrquota        1 2
    LABEL=/var              /var                    ext3    defaults,usrquota        1 2
    /dev/sdb2               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    /dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom              udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy             auto    noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
    
    so...
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The LABEL statements are fine, it's just an alternative way to mount partitions without having to know their physical location. The fstab file looks fine.

    It almost appears as though the quota files have had their attr's changed. What do you get with:

    lsattr /home/quota*
     
  6. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    lsattr /home/quota* said:
    Code:
    root@pengo [/home]# lsattr /home/quota*
    -----a------- /home/quota.user
    ------------- /home/quota.user.new
    
    I thing that i should change the attributes of this file, but please tell me with what attrs i have to do change it.
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Aha!

    chattr -a /home/quota.user

    Then run /scripts/fixquotas again.
     
  8. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @Chirpy 10x this solve the problem with fixquotas script but not with problem at all.
    so after
    Code:
    root@pengo [/]# chattr -a /home/aquota.user*
    root@pengo [/]# chattr -a /home/quota.user*
    root@pengo [/]# /scripts/fixquotas
    Installing Default Quota Databases...../aquota.user..../quota.user..../backup/aquota.user..../backup/quota.user..../boot/aquota.user..../boot/quota.user..../home/aquota.user..../home/quota.user..../tmp/aquota.user..../tmp/quota.user..../usr/aquota.user..../usr/quota.user..../var/aquota.user..../var/quota.user.....Done
    Quotas are now on
    Updating Quota Files......
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda2 [/] done
            quotacheck: Checked 1075 directories and 28878 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sdb1 [/home] done
            quotacheck: Checked 5420 directories and 102296 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda5 [/usr] done
            quotacheck: Checked 14863 directories and 219669 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda6 [/var] done
            quotacheck: Checked 633 directories and 7164 files
    
    
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda2 [/] done
            quotacheck: Checked 1075 directories and 28878 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sdb1 [/home] done
            quotacheck: Checked 5420 directories and 102296 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda5 [/usr] done
            quotacheck: Checked 14863 directories and 219669 files
            quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda6 [/var] done
            quotacheck: Checked 633 directories and 7161 files
    
    ....Done
    Note: call resetquota with --useplanquotas to reset all quotas to plan defaults
    Resetting quota for bgwap to 400 Meg....Done
    Resetting quota for bgweb to 500 Meg....Done
    Resetting quota for bobby to 0 Meg....Done
    ...............for all accounts
    
    the problem still exists
    so when i try to add forwarder for some email cpanel said:
    Code:
    All email sent to office@domains.com will now be redirected to email@email.com The disk write test failed. You may have exceeded your quota, or the disk is full.
    where might the problem now?
     
    #8 the_bobara, Jun 23, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2005
  9. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hey, nobody knows where might be the problem after fixquotas script?
     
Loading...

Share This Page