Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

/bin/sh: line 1: GET: command not found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by XPerties, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Moved some sites to a new server and now my crons get the following error:

    /bin/sh: line 1: GET: command not found

    What perl module is GET associated with that I should make sure it's properly installed? I thought it was LWP but installing that did no good.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    The cronjob you are mentioning looks like a Bash script and not Perl. Could try and help you if you can paste the entire cron file here. I guess the error is not pertaining to line 1 of your script even.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to either

    1. Install the perl-libwww-perl to get GET

    or

    2. install the LWP perl module manually and make sure you answer yes to:

    Do you want to install the GET alias? [n]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Chirpy, that's a right handy piece of information.

    You would not believe how many people I've asked on where to get 'GET', as it is no longer installed by default, not since Linux 9 anyway. Even some very knowledgeable people had no idea. I thought I was going crazy. :eek:

    Turns out I just got better at using 'wget' and the necessary switches. :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Glad to help :) I've not used GET myself just had to get it installed a few times - have always used wget myself.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. b0072k1

    b0072k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Cheers for the info my server never installed get, for a few cron jobs :d like for whmautopilot and such
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice