The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/bin/sh: line 1: GET: command not found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by XPerties, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Moved some sites to a new server and now my crons get the following error:

    /bin/sh: line 1: GET: command not found

    What perl module is GET associated with that I should make sure it's properly installed? I thought it was LWP but installing that did no good.
     
  2. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The cronjob you are mentioning looks like a Bash script and not Perl. Could try and help you if you can paste the entire cron file here. I guess the error is not pertaining to line 1 of your script even.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to either

    1. Install the perl-libwww-perl to get GET

    or

    2. install the LWP perl module manually and make sure you answer yes to:

    Do you want to install the GET alias? [n]
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Chirpy, that's a right handy piece of information.

    You would not believe how many people I've asked on where to get 'GET', as it is no longer installed by default, not since Linux 9 anyway. Even some very knowledgeable people had no idea. I thought I was going crazy. :eek:

    Turns out I just got better at using 'wget' and the necessary switches. :D
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Glad to help :) I've not used GET myself just had to get it installed a few times - have always used wget myself.
     
  6. b0072k1

    b0072k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Cheers for the info my server never installed get, for a few cron jobs :d like for whmautopilot and such
     
Loading...

Share This Page