The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bind is broken- never worked from the start

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by B12Org, Sep 1, 2003.

  1. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I get this message when bind restarts

    rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.


    I have tried doing the standard, fixndc, name server setup, resolver config, reinstalling bind, using 8, using 9 in tweak setup, and all sorts of stuff, and I am stuck. Please help!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Are you trying to run DNS on your local box or attempting to connect to another primary/slave DNS box?

    If you're doing the local thing, make sure that under "edit setup" that you have a couple of nameservers listed right near the bottom, make sure that you do not have a master nameserver set, BIND set to ver. 9 and then click on submit. Then click on "Initial Nameserver Setup" in WHM and click on Ok to start the bad boy up.

    If you encounter errors, reply back with them here.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeah, I had tried all of that. Finally I got fed up and deleted my named.conf (made a backup first), and then did the fixndc script twice, and then it worked. But with the named.conf file in place, it would not work properly. I am at a loss. Maybe it was just the key it was using?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Perhaps the named.conf file was corrupt or something similar.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Must have been, or something, it never worked from initial install of the os. So something must have been wrong with it. Thanks for the help though!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Anybody knows a fix for this ?

    I have the same on a new box

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: [cPanel ID# 31332]
     
  7. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found the fix

    This is a common error on RH 9

    pico -w /etc/named.conf

    find all instances of rndc-key and change to rndckey

    pico -w /etc/rndc.conf

    Do the same.

    Then

    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixndc

    yes twice

    service named restart

    That did it for me :D :D
     
  8. Coryms

    Coryms Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It worked!

    Thanks for the help. Your step-by-step fix worked perfectly. I was having to restart BIND after each new account creation for the DNS changes to take effect.
     
  9. rasilva

    rasilva Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks @home. It fixed it.
     
  10. netdias

    netdias Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Aplause !!!! it finally resolved my problem 2 :)

    There are lots of problems like these in RH9 :mad:
     
  11. gunmuse

    gunmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Is Cpanel updated to the latest version of Bind?

    There is a new release of bind 9 with bug fixes I was curious if that was installed at any time?
     
  12. netdias

    netdias Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    No, I updated the rpm, after I solved the problem... I got 2 think if it would solve it 2...
     
  13. asuservice

    asuservice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Still A Problem

    Just wanted to post a heads up that this issue is still a problem.
    I just put up a new box on 02-20-2004 then found this issue today. The box is running ...

    WHM 8.8.0 cPanel 8.8.0-S74
    RedHat 9 - WHM X v2.1.2

    The fix above did work.
     
  14. teerasak

    teerasak Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bangkok
    It does not work on Fedora1. Some body help me please!!! I try every thing by recommend on forum 1 day ago.
     
  15. webrats

    webrats Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ditto
     
  16. Michael-MS

    Michael-MS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This fixed my problems on redhat9. Thanks very much!

    Michael
     
  17. ladierainy

    ladierainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @home I could freaking KISS you!

    YOU ARE MY HEROOOOOOOOOOO!

    This fixed my problem completely!

    You so totally ROCK!

    I LOVE the people here and these forums - you all have helped me with my learning curve SO MUCH!

    MUAH~!

    Much much love and uber-appreciation from me! :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page