The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BIND just won't work!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Techdeck, Dec 20, 2005.

  1. Techdeck

    Techdeck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    BIND just won't work!

    Hello guys,

    I have just got my new server with my cpanel license and all, I have installed cpanel successfully (more or less).. the system is Debian 3.1.. after I finished the cpanel install I noticed named(bind) is not installed! so I installed it using apt-get ... bind works and all like that but cpanel will not approve.. when I add a new dns zone with cpanel it just wont add it.. I go to the edit dns zones menu and its not there..
    I tried checking the permissions on /var/named (it's set to bind:bind (the ownership) and g+rw as modes)... I also tried symlinking /etc/bind/named.conf to /etc/named.conf etc...
    then I removed that bind version and tried some fedora version and it also ran, but cpanel didn't react to it.. this is too frustrating.

    I just can't get it working no matter what I try...

    Can anyone please recommend a solution?

    Thank you.
     
    #1 Techdeck, Dec 20, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2005
  2. Techdeck

    Techdeck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone know!?

    Please answer someone...
     
  3. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    any errors in /var/log/messages when you restart bind?
     
  4. Techdeck

    Techdeck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope.

    No errors at all, bind runs fine just cpanel won't recognize it
    I could add the zones manually and it will work, but it doesn't work with cpanel..
    let me give you some other details I think you might find helpful:

    # ls -ld /var/named /etc/bind /etc/named.conf /etc/bind/rndc.*
    drwxr-xr-x 2 bind bind 4096 Dec 21 07:19 /etc/bind
    -rw------- 1 root root 479 Dec 21 07:12 /etc/bind/rndc.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 named named 77 Dec 21 07:12 /etc/bind/rndc.key
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 bind bind 20 Dec 20 19:33 /etc/named.conf -> /etc/bind/named.conf
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 bind bind 10 Dec 20 19:33 /var/named -> /etc/bind/

    # ls -l /etc/bind
    total 60
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 237 Sep 23 2004 db.0
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 271 Sep 23 2004 db.127
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 237 Sep 23 2004 db.255
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 353 Sep 23 2004 db.empty
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 256 Sep 23 2004 db.local
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 1507 Sep 23 2004 db.root
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 1721 Dec 21 07:15 named.conf
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 bind bind 219 Dec 20 18:54 named.conf.dpkg-old
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 1721 Dec 21 07:15 named.conf.fixrndc
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 165 Sep 23 2004 named.conf.local
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 672 Sep 23 2004 named.conf.options
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 1721 Dec 21 07:15 named.conf.prefixrndc
    -rw------- 1 bind bind 479 Dec 21 07:12 rndc.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 77 Dec 21 07:12 rndc.key
    -rw-r--r-- 1 bind bind 1317 Sep 23 2004 zones.rfc1918



    Any thoughts?
     
  5. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try in a consol:
    cd /scripts
    ./fixnamed
     
  6. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I have never run Debian. You may want to submit a ticket to cpanel and have them take a look.
     
  7. Techdeck

    Techdeck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmm

    No luck with /scripts/fixnamed
    and by the way.. I just noticed another problem, I can create an account with cpanel, I can also terminate it with it but after I terminate it, the user still appears in the list of users, and when I try to delete it again it tells me the user doesn't exist...
    Whats going on? :(
     
  8. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This says a lot to me
    More or less ???
    Along with the other problems you mention it seems you had a bad install. I would be tempted to start from scratch again myself.
     
  9. Techdeck

    Techdeck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well..

    It's because it's on debian, and cpanel is so used to .rpms, I guess it tried to install named during the installation but failed because it tried getting an rpm or something..
    starting it from scratch wont help as I'll get the same results, I tried it already
     
  10. Techdeck

    Techdeck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    YES! I have fixed bind ! :D

    All I had to do was comment a tiny piece of code in DNSlib.pm :D
    but.. now for the other problem..



    WWWAcct 10.0 (c) 1997-2005 cPanel, Inc.

    +===================================+
    | New Account Info |
    +===================================+
    | Domain: pmo.linhosting.com
    | Ip: 66.90.92.184 (n)
    | HasCgi: y
    | UserName: pmo2
    | PassWord: - HIDDEN -
    | CpanelMod: monsoon
    | HomeRoot: /home
    | Quota: 0 Meg
    | NameServer1: DNS1.LINHOSTING.COM
    | NameServer2: DNS2.LINHOSTING.COM
    | NameServer3:
    | NameServer4:
    | Contact Email:
    +===================================+
    Changing password for pmo2
    Password for pmo2 has been changed
    Keeping Shell Access (y)
    Copying skel files from /root/cpanel3-skel/ to /home/pmo2/
    safe_userchgid: Error Fetching the uid/gidAdded Entries to httpd.conf
    Bind reconfiguring on panel using rndc
    Added Named File
    safe_userchgid: Error Fetching the uid/gidNote: Local version of Apache must use the FrontPage Apache patch.
    Starting install, port: 80.

    Creating web http://www.pmo.linhosting.com.


    Restarting apache
    Ftp Password Files synced
    Vhost Passwords synced
    Notifcation => peledn@gmail.com via EMAIL [level => 3]
    wwwacct creation finished
    Account Creation Complete!!!

    what are those safe_userchgid errors?
    how can I fix them? I think those are the one that wont let me remove the enteries later
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'd suggest that you trying rebuilding apache through WHM and make sure the Frontpage Module option is ticked.

    The main issue may be that cPanel doesn't apparently support Debian 3.1 (look on their site for supported OS's) so you may run into problems that will be hard to solve. For an OS that cPanel is more widely developed on and a known quantity, you might want to consider changing to RHE/CentOS or FreeBSD.
     
Loading...

Share This Page