The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bind needs restarting after every new account

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by alrock, Dec 6, 2004.

  1. alrock

    alrock Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is making me crazy.

    Every time a new account is added, the domain appears like it is not resolving even though a check on DNS Stuff shows that it is configured with the correct nameservers and more than 48 hours have gone by.

    The only thing that fixes it is to restart bind.

    Has anyone else experienced this problem? Is there a fix for it?
     
  2. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep its happening on my machine too.
     
  3. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sub-domains don't seem to resolve either
     
  4. 3en

    3en Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yeah, I have the same problem. Looking for a fix but can't find one.
     
  5. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    what does

    /usr/sbin/rndc reload

    tail -100 /var/log/messages

    show?
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    By any chance, are you guys are running RHEL3 Update4 ?
     
  7. 3en

    3en Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm running CentOS which is basicly RHEL. It's fixed now. Some one in IRC suggested to run /scripts/fixndc in ssh. Which I did and it fixed it. Very helpfull people in IRC.

    Thanks for your help any way.
     
  8. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep /scripts/fixndc seems to be the solution, I am also using CentOs.

    Pete
     
  9. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    the bind in my server also didnt restart everytime i create an account or make dns change using WMH/CPanel ?

    I am using RH Enterprise 3.

    WHM 9.9.9
    cPanel 9.9.9-R14

    do i also use /scripts/fixndc to fix?

    Please advise
     
    #9 seahorse, Jan 5, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2005
  10. 3en

    3en Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /scripts/fixndc normally does the trick. Don't know about your situation. I was running CentOS that basicly is RHEL but free becuase it's built from the rpm's.
     
  11. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    but will /scripts/fixndc permanently fix the problem.
    ie, currently the bind wont restart everytime i add an account through WHM. I need to manually restart bind to make it work.

    so after running /scripts/fixndc, next time when i create an account will i need to manually restart bind again?
     
  12. alrock

    alrock Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    running fixndc did not fix it for me. Nor has anything else I have tried.
     
  13. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    what about upgrading the whm/cpanel ?

    if /scripts/fixndc doesnt fix it.... i have no idea too.

    anyone have any idea??
     
  14. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What are your log files saying ?
     
  15. UKDSL

    UKDSL Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    When you add/create a domain are you getting any errors?
     
  16. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i tried runnin /scripts/fixndc
    it fixed.
     
  17. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Problems like this are usually down to a problem with RNDC (the bind 'remote' control program) not being able to connect to bind.

    /scripts/fixrndc will usually fix most of these issues.

    If it still doesnt work, try running rndc reload and paste the error output into this thread into here so we can see what it's whinging about.
     
  18. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    This problem is usually fixed with both:
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixnamed


    Once done, restart named and see how it works.
     
  19. dhawton

    dhawton Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried /scripts/fixnamed and /scripts/fixndc

    Error:
    [root@darkhelmet:/etc/namedb]# rndc reload
    rndc: connect failed: connection refused

    I think 2nd to last line is interesting, from /var/log/messages:
    Jan 9 12:48:35 darkhelmet named[43896]: Ready to answer queries.
    Jan 9 12:50:31 darkhelmet named[43975]: starting (/etc/namedb/named.conf). named 8.3.7-REL Sat Dec 25 00:55:02 CST 2004 ltsv-51@darkhelmet.printf.biz:/usr/obj/usr/src/usr.sbin/named
    Jan 9 12:50:31 darkhelmet named[43975]: limit files set to fdlimit (1024)
    Jan 9 12:50:31 darkhelmet named[43975]: /etc/namedb/named.conf:8: Ignoring BIND 9 inet control clause
    Jan 9 12:50:31 darkhelmet named[43976]: Ready to answer queries.


    O/S: FreeBSD
    cPanel/WHM: WHM 9.9.8 cPanel 9.9.8-R118
     
    #19 dhawton, Jan 9, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2005
  20. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You're running Bind series 8.

    You need to be running v9 for rndc to function, as version 8 of bind never had rndc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page