Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Bind Not Restarting

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by tiascott, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. tiascott

    tiascott Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I've searched the forums and can't really find an answer. Everytime I add a new account, bind will not restart therefore leaving the domain name down until it's manually restarted. Any ideas?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    After server reboot:

    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixnamed
    service named start

    :D
     
  3. tiascott

    tiascott Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Where do I find that at?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jdonoso

    jdonoso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    The Third Rock from The Sun!
    Hi,

    What netlook was trying to tell you was that you login as 'root' and run those commands in order:

    /scripts/fixndc [Enter]
    /scripts/fixnamed [Enter]
    service named start [Enter]

    HTH, :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 jdonoso, Nov 20, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2004
  5. tiascott

    tiascott Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I am in root, but where do I go to do those commends?? Sorry I only know so much about this and I can't find a good explanation anywhere for new people. So I'm having to learn as I go along.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As Juan said just type those commands at the root prompt that you see after logging in using ssh. Here is a list of commands most of which you can run from a root prompt.
    http://www.linuxdevcenter.com/linux/cmd/
    If any of this proves overwhelming you might consider hiring a sys admin from these forums to help get you started. Many have very reasonable prices. One of the best is Chirpy.
     
    #6 sawbuck, Nov 20, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice