The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bind on DNS only

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by dragon2611, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've setup cpanel DNS only on a small xen based vps

    Everything appeared to go fine however the DNS-Only based server is refusing to accept external querys.

    Have checked the firewall it's not that as far as i can tell (Tried it with it off as well).

    Here's what im getting

    Code:
    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4-P1 <<>> fbdn.net @127.0.0.1
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 24127
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 5, ADDITIONAL: 5
    
    
    Prooves that the NS entry exists on the VPS

    However when I try to query it from another Host I get the following.

    Code:
    server@2k-cpanel.com [~]# dig fbdn.net @66.71.245.34
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4-P1 <<>> fbdn.net @66.71.245.34
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: REFUSED, id: 16818
    ;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;fbdn.net.                      IN      A
    
    ;; Query time: 99 msec
    ;; SERVER: 66.71.245.34#53(66.71.245.34)
    ;; WHEN: Sun Sep 28 14:26:22 2008
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 26
    
    
    I Guess its a config problem somewhere but could someone please point me in the right direction? :confused:
     
  2. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For some reason when Cpanel/whm build the named.conf it included a statement to make Bind only answer external queries from "Localhost" and the local subnet :rolleyes:
     
  3. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I get the same thing. Isn't this a major bug? I mean the whole point of the DNS Only product is to handle DNS queries from the outside world, right?

    How did you solve it? Comment out the line in question?

    Thanks.
     
  4. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually I deleted the line in question but commenting it out had the same effect.

    Search for "external" i think it's somewhere around there.

    If in doubt compare that section of the config file with the main server
    ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page