The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bind problem on fresh install on ubuntu

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Frano8, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. Frano8

    Frano8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    This is my first install and all seemed to go well but I cant restart my DNS BIND Nameserver?

    I have looked through the forums for a good couple of hours and found similar issues but nothing that has helped me resolve mine?

    I cant access WHM through my browser as the namservers are obviously required to access it.

    Has anyone encountered this problem before on ubuntu 6.06 and if so how did they fix.

    I am new and keen to learn but would be very grateful for soem advice on this one.

    Thanks
     
  2. Quantum|Steven

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    1. You have an old version of Ubuntu.
    2. Try CentOS or something else instead. Far easier to install on.
    3. Old version of ubuntu... dont install on a used machine.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. sirotex

    sirotex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We had the same problem on FreeBSD, the simple solution is to reinstall bind. It seems the one cPanel installs was broken.
     
  5. ericgregory

    ericgregory Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Fran08,

    The other issue with using an unsupported OS (i.e. Ubuntu) is that we can not provide you with technical support. If you want to use cPanel, please use an OS that we fully support.
     
  6. bovcan

    bovcan Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Witch motherboard/chipset is supported by CentOS 5?
    I try to install CentOs 5 but than it can't found any hard disk in the sistem.
    I have Foxconn MARS P35/ICH9R motherboard. With Ubuntu 8.1 I don't hav does problems.
     
  7. wizzy420

    wizzy420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Whooops, didn't do enough research :)

    This is why server boards use standard, well tested components.

    I assume you have a LGA775 CPU.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131257

    Note there is a -C version of this board, but the Ethernet chipsets won't work with CentOS

    And please don't take my word for it, I make no guarantees.
     
Loading...

Share This Page