Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Bind Problems GAW!

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by rvrsl, Aug 1, 2006.

  1. rvrsl

    rvrsl Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Just as the title says, I'm having probelms with BIND. As far as I can see, it's fine in WHM. It's running, the service has not crashed, but just randomly all domains stop resolving. I check instantly and the server is online by IP but again, nothing resolves. It happens all the time and it only lasts for a few minutes. I'll check my emails and the hosts can't be found, then i'll check again a few minutes later and everything is alright, all the domains resolve again. I can't check the /var/log/messages because its 0 bytes and empty, I don't understand that either.

    Any ideas what could be causing this?

    BTW, running cPanel 10.8.2-R119 on a CentOS 4.3 box.
     
  2. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    How long has this been happening? It could be that you have a misconfigured DNS setup rather than BIND being the cause of the problem. Can you confirm with your DC/Server provider that the resolv is correctly setup?
     
  3. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    In addition to what celliott said, run these commands at the prompt:
    /scripts/fixnamed
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/restartsrv named
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Your message log is the key. To get it logging again, restart the syslog daemon:

    service syslog restart
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. markpap

    markpap Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Greece.
    I have the same problems with BIND. I must restart bind every 2 - 3 days! It's impossible for me to do that because I'm not always online! So, my domains are not working propertly!
    Any solution? Thanks...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice