Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

bind problems

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by phantom, Apr 12, 2003.

  1. phantom

    phantom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I'm having a problem with my master name server.

    When I sync dns records with the primary name server on a slave server I get this error while tailing the message log

    Apr 12 18:17:31 gravity named[24870]: zone apassionata.net/IN: refresh: failure trying master 209.51.131.178#53: timed out
    Apr 12 18:18:05 gravity named[24870]: loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf'
    Apr 12 18:18:05 gravity named[24870]: /etc/named.conf:37: key 'rndckey': already exists
    Apr 12 18:18:05 gravity named[24870]: reloading configuration failed: failure

    Then when I go to restart bid, I get the rndc connect:connection refused.

    I do the /scripts/fixndc and it fixes it temporarily but the problem keeps happening. any ideas?
     
  2. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    try re-establish relationship in WHM, maybe it helps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. phantom

    phantom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Already tried that.

    Bind seems to go down on the slave box every time a new account is created.

    I have to restart the master DNS then do /scripts/fixndc to get it to work again.

    Does anyone know why it's doing this?

    Both versions of cpanel are the same.
     
  4. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Bind seems to go down on the slave box every time a new account is created.

    I have to restart the master DNS then do /scripts/fixndc to get it to work again.


    I would like to know the answer as well. The same happens here - bind fails on the slave server - /scripts/fixndc fixes it, but why does it happen? (I didn't have to restart the master server though)

    John
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice