The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bind problems

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by phantom, Apr 12, 2003.

  1. phantom

    phantom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm having a problem with my master name server.

    When I sync dns records with the primary name server on a slave server I get this error while tailing the message log

    Apr 12 18:17:31 gravity named[24870]: zone apassionata.net/IN: refresh: failure trying master 209.51.131.178#53: timed out
    Apr 12 18:18:05 gravity named[24870]: loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf'
    Apr 12 18:18:05 gravity named[24870]: /etc/named.conf:37: key 'rndckey': already exists
    Apr 12 18:18:05 gravity named[24870]: reloading configuration failed: failure

    Then when I go to restart bid, I get the rndc connect:connection refused.

    I do the /scripts/fixndc and it fixes it temporarily but the problem keeps happening. any ideas?
     
  2. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try re-establish relationship in WHM, maybe it helps.
     
  3. phantom

    phantom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Already tried that.

    Bind seems to go down on the slave box every time a new account is created.

    I have to restart the master DNS then do /scripts/fixndc to get it to work again.

    Does anyone know why it's doing this?

    Both versions of cpanel are the same.
     
  4. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Bind seems to go down on the slave box every time a new account is created.

    I have to restart the master DNS then do /scripts/fixndc to get it to work again.


    I would like to know the answer as well. The same happens here - bind fails on the slave server - /scripts/fixndc fixes it, but why does it happen? (I didn't have to restart the master server though)

    John
     
Loading...

Share This Page