The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bind won't stop trying to start

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by SeñorAmor, Feb 16, 2004.

  1. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey all. I'm a newbie to cPanel, but I installed it and set up everything earlier today. Everything seems to be going fine except I keep getting email alerts that bind is having problems starting.

    I have separate nameservers so I don't need (or want) bind to start. I've unticked it in the Service Manager, and rebooted several times, but I keep getting emails about it.

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone?
     
  3. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Regardless of where your Nameservers are, you do want BIND to be running -- else Apache don't work. ;)
     
  4. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, so I want to make sure named is running then, eh?

    *Edit*

    I tried to restart it and got this:

    Attempting to restart bind
    Waiting for bind to restart.... . . . . . . . . . . finished.

    rndc: connect failed: connection refused
    bind status


    bind started ok

    I then checked the service status and bind was not running.

    I'm still kinda new to this so I apologize if this is a simple problem.
     
    #4 SeñorAmor, Feb 17, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2004
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are many posts here on this problem so 'Search' is your friend.

    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixndc

    Running the above (yes, the second one twice) might solve the problem for you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page