The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blank .htaccess file, host useless, website broken ... almost out of time to migrate

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Trvl, Aug 27, 2014.

  1. Trvl

    Trvl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello all,

    I need to migrate a company website, as soon as physically possible because they are about to close our account on the old webhost.

    We have uploaded all the needed files to the new VPS. However, there appears to be a .htaccess misconfiguration (it is actually blank) and the links on the site are broken, 404 Error and 500 error, with only the homepage somewhat functional. Nobody here knows PHP, but the old host wants $$$ to fix it (to add the proper settings to the .htaccess) ... and the new host refuses to take on the task because they are unfamiliar with the proprietary CMS (migrating to Cpanel).

    Is there any way I can do this on my own? Is there an existing template I can modify to suit our needs and fix the redirecting?

    Please help, this is an emergency ...

    Thank you very much.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I suggest backing up the account from your original hosting provider using the "Backup" option in cPanel. This way, all of the data is retained in the event you no longer have access to that server. What error messages do you see in the Apache error log (/usr/local/apache/logs/error_log) on the new server when loading the website?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Trvl

    Trvl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, and thank you for your expedient response. :)

    Here are some of the error messages generated today:

    Code:
    [Wed Aug 27 13:46:17.167298 2014] [:error] [pid 6263] [client 184.75.71.85:11595] PHP Fatal error:  Class 'CatalogItemModel' not found in /home/gfssoftware/public_html/protected/widgets/catalogRelatedItem/CatalogRelatedItemWidget.php on line 56, referer: 
    [Wed Aug 27 13:45:34.513856 2014] [:error] [pid 17344] [client 184.75.71.85:11587] PHP Fatal error:  Class 'CatalogItemModel' not found in /home/gfssoftware/public_html/protected/widgets/catalogRelatedItem/CatalogRelatedItemWidget.php on line 56, referer: 
    [Wed Aug 27 13:45:11.989365 2014] [:error] [pid 1342] [client 184.75.71.85:11585] PHP Fatal error:  Class 'CatalogItemModel' not found in /home/gfssoftware/public_html/protected/widgets/catalogRelatedItem/CatalogRelatedItemWidget.php on line 56, referer: 
    [Wed Aug 27 13:11:30.823043 2014] [:error] [pid 5900] [client 24.73.185.86:11314] PHP Fatal error:  Class 'CatalogItemModel' not found in /home/gfssoftware/public_html/protected/widgets/catalogRelatedItem/CatalogRelatedItemWidget.php on line 56, referer:
    [Wed Aug 27 13:11:17.735463 2014] [:error] [pid 17344] [client 24.73.185.86:21887] PHP Fatal error:  Class 'CatalogItemModel' not found in /home/gfssoftware/public_html/protected/widgets/catalogRelatedItem/CatalogRelatedItemWidget.php on line 56, referer: 
    - - - Updated - - -

    I apologize - I must emphasize that those error messages are generated when I test the website on the new server (after modifying the hosts file). The site is fully functional if visited as is.
     
    #3 Trvl, Aug 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2014
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It shows an error with your script itself. Is a different version of PHP used? Have you tried updating the script to the latest version available?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Trvl

    Trvl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I apologize for misunderstanding. Can this updating be done through WHM? The coding of the website was performed by the old host as well.

    The new host is saying that we will definitely need further development by the previous host. (using undefined object)
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If it's a custom script and not a common CMS such as WordPress or Joomla, then you must consult with the developers of the script or additional PHP developers to determine why it's not working and what changes are required.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Trvl

    Trvl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I understand. Yes, it is a custom CMS, so it looks like this cannot be resolved without a third party. Thanks for all your assistance, it will help us in making our next decision.
     
Loading...

Share This Page