The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blank page after login to phpMyAdmin

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by TomKu, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. TomKu

    TomKu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After logging into phpMyAdmin (via cPanel) I get blank page
    On each refresh of the page /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log says:

    PHP Fatal error: Call to undefined function PMA_generate_common_url() in /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/libraries/plugins/auth/AuthenticationCpanel.class.php on line 611

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/updatephpmyadmin --force
    did not help.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/updatephpmyadmin --force
     
  3. TomKu

    TomKu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As you might read in the intial post the command was run and it did not seem to help (I just run it again before retesting).

    To recap: after clicking phpMyAdmin button in cPanel I get 'Welcome to phpMyAdmin' login page
    URL in address bar reads '.../cpsessXXXXXXXXX/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/index.php'

    After I login:
    - the URL stays the same
    - the page gets blank
    - above mentioned error shows in log

    Now I focus address bar (click inside it) and press enter. Correct/expected content displays, no other message in log.

    UPDATE:
    After enabling error_reporting/display_errors in phpMyAdmin/index.php I get on the login page:

    Fatal error: Call to undefined function PMA_generate_common_hidden_inputs() in /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/libraries/plugins/auth/AuthenticationCpanel.class.php on line 213
     
    #3 TomKu, Mar 19, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look and attempt to reproduce the issue on your system? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. talk2prakash

    talk2prakash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try /scripts/upcp --force
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is the phpMyAdmin page actually blank (as in a completely white page, no text, no images), or does it have a username and password box and some other output, but no listing of the account's databases? The reason that I ask, is in the instances I am familiar with, the phpMyAdmin page is not "blank" per se, but has fields for a username and password and does not list the account's databases, and at the same time the error in the first post in the ticket is logged to /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log. I just wanted to make clear to everyone that the problem we are discussing is not usually a blank page, but a page that does not contain the usual phpMyAdmin output we expect.

    I have attached a screenshot that shows what is often described to us in tickets as a "blank" page. If you see this page, before you start a forced update of cPanel (upcp --force), reset the cPanel account's password. That may be all you need to do.

    In most of those instances of this problem that we have seen, the MySQL database user's password was not in sync with the cPanel system user's password, and resetting the password was all that was required. After you reset the cPanel user's password in the WebHost Manager, log out of cPanel and log back in, and then click the phpMyAdmin icon again.

    If resetting the cPanel account's password does not correct the problem, submit a ticket, as Michael suggested, so that we can look at the specific problem on your server directly.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After you reset the cPanel account's password, make sure to log out of cPanel, and log back in. After you log out, then log back in, click the phpMyAdmin icon, and it should load normally. If you do not log out of cPanel and log back in, it will not completely reset the session and phpMyAdmin will still appear broken.
     
  8. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update:

    I do see that a blank page is displayed after I enter a username and password in the phpMyAdmin log-in form, so now I understand where the complaints of a blank page originate. However, there should be no need to log into phpMyAdmin separately.

    If you see the phpMyAdmin log-in form, try resetting the cPanel account's password as I described. That should put the password for the account's system user and MySQL user back in sync, and you should not see a log-in form for phpMyAdmin. It should load without a separate log-in when you click the icon in cPanel.
     
  9. TomKu

    TomKu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After I click phpMyAdmin button I get a page with login form just like on the screenshot provided by cPanelJared
    then after logging in I get totally BLANK page
    then I press enter when focus is in address bar
    and correct content of phpMyAdmin (like for logged in user) displays.

    The solution offered by cPanelJared works:
    1) I login to cPanel and reset password (to the same one)
    2) I logout and login again
    3) I click phpMyAdmin and I get into phpMyAdmin (no more login form or blank page)

    Thank you Jared

    I would be good to make the synchronization work in a (background/periodic) way that will make such problem to never return.
     
  10. Hagai Shaul

    Hagai Shaul Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    The solution is simple for most of you...

    go to WHM > Home > Account Information > List Accounts

    Find the relevant account and press on the [+] to expand the action panel for this account.

    Check the "[v] Synchronize MySQL password".

    Add a new password and press on "Change".

    If "Synchronize MySQL password" is missing then I guess it is automatically update the MySQL password with the new cPanel password.

    cPanel & WHM 11.40 Release Notes
     
  11. Sofiot

    Sofiot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello

    I have the same white, empty page after clicking the phpMy Admin button and entering name and password. I was told that I had to reset the password, because it was "too old". So I did that. And I clicked the option that it, let's say, "syncs" with the MySQL Password. Sorry for the weird wording.
    But anyway the same problem occurred. I need to log in twice and the empty page appears.
    And yes, I closed all sessions, emptied all the browser caches, closed all windows and even safari after resetting the password. Still the same problem.
    I was told that my browser obviously doesn't transmit the checkbox to sync the MySQL password.
    What else can I do?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this happening on multiple browsers? Do you have root access to the server?

    Thank you.
     
  13. Sofiot

    Sofiot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It happens in safari and firefox.
    I only have control to my reseller account via my web browser.
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will need to consult with your web hosting provider to have them further investigate the issue. Feel free to have them submit a ticket with us if they determine it's an issue isolated to the cPanel/WHM software.

    Thank you.
     
  15. Sofiot

    Sofiot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you, Michael.

    Unfortunately I was in consultation with my web hosting provider. They told me that the cPanel developers gave them the answer that the problem is on my side since my browser doesn't transmit that checkbox.
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What was the ticket number? It seems odd that it would be a browser issue unless you are using a rare OS/browser or have customizations and/or special security features enabled.

    Thank you.
     
  17. Sofiot

    Sofiot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    You are right. Nothing special. Safari or Firefox under OSX latest.
    Ticket number? I don't know. And actually I honestly doubt that they really contacted the developers. That is why I'm here to ask if it can be possible that the checked checkbox would be not transmitted inside the cpanel reset password form.

    Thank you.
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,694
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It could happen under limited circumstances (e.g. a third-party application's browser integration on your system), but it's not something I was able to reproduce on a browser with default settings. Could you ask your provider for the ticket number so we can review it and determine if more information is available?

    Thank you.
     
  19. Sofiot

    Sofiot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here you go:
    QSO-963-11711


    Thank you.
     
  20. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is a ticket number in your provider's own ticket system. It is not a cPanel ticket number, so we would not have access to it. We need the number for the ticket your provider opened with cPanel. That number will not contain any letters (such as "QSO") or dashes or hyphens (-), and it will consist of seven digits. Currently, new cPanel tickets start with a 5.
     
Loading...

Share This Page