The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

blank screen after login for cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ike, Mar 11, 2007.

  1. ike

    ike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i can log into whm fine and make accounts, do all that but when i go into list accounts and click on the cpanel icon for a user. it goes to the login screen for the frontend but then after the password is put in it just loads a blank screen.

    i have searched the forum (and google) looking for answers but havent found anything. one guy had the same problem last year but there was no solution to his thread.

    the permissions for the folders are fine.

    I'm running WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R139 / FreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE i386 - WHM X v3.1.0

    any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    WHM > Tweak Settings > System section > remove the check beside:

    Disable login with root or reseller password into the users' cPanel interface. Also disable switch account dropdown in themes with switch account feature.


    That should do it. ;)
     
  3. ike

    ike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks for that dude but yeah that was already unchecked. the cpanel icon was there. its just shows nothing after you login, even without going through the whm

    ...http://myip:2082

    i get the login for cpanelX.

    i put in the correct login details and it logs me into an empty screen.

    this is from a view source of the page i get

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
    <HTML><HEAD>
    <META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=windows-1252"></HEAD>
    <BODY></BODY></HTML>
     
  4. ike

    ike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    anyone got any other ideas? ive searched everywhere ands found now answers. im usimng a release version. ive seen a few ppl fix theirs by going up to a release version. its bizarre
     
  5. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If this is a new server, make sure you choose a theme under
    Server Configuration<<Basic cPanel/WHM Setup <<Default cPanel Theme
    * Enter the default cPanel theme for newly created accounts whose
    package does not specify a theme.

    If that fails,

    try running from root in ssh

    /scripts/portsup

    then run

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules

    after that finishes, run

    /scripts/upcp --force

    see if that clears it up.
     
    #5 easyhoster1, Mar 13, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2007
  6. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    What FreeBSD version are you running on your server?

    Did you check the log file? /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    Run these two commands at the prompt and see if that helps:
    /scripts/portsup
    portupgrade compat4x-i386-5.X (Assuming you are running FreeBSD i386 v5.3 or v5.4)
     
  7. ike

    ike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    im running freebsd 6.1
     
  8. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM 11.1.0 cPanel 11.1-E8012
    REDHAT Enterprise 4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    I am having the same problem on one of my cpanel servers.

    I upgraded to the latest edge version so I can use the X3 theme, and all of the themes (x, x2, x3) do not work. Instead, I see only a blank screen. This happens all of the accounts on this server. Cpanel now does not work.

    I tried these options...

    /scripts/portsup
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules
    /scripts/upcp --force

    ... but the problem remains. I have switched back and forth from the ssl port to the non ssl port and I have unchecked the force redirect to ssl and also checked that option. In all cases, the cpanel remains just a blank page. The login prompt comes up, proper user password is accepted, and blank screen.

    Anyone have any suggestions as to why this is happening?
     
  9. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Any errors in the log files: /var/cpanel/logs/*

    In addition, login to the WHM >> Tweak Settings >> System section >> un-check the following: Disable login with root or reseller password into the users' cPanel interface. Also disable switch account dropdown in themes with switch account feature
    See if that helps.
     
  10. dan223

    dan223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Had the same problem on Cent OS 4, ran the commands mentioned and its working fine now.
     
  11. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Contacted Cpanel support and this is what they said....

    You'll need to increase RLIMIT_RSS for cPanel to function properly. The
    following error is being generated:

    The rlimit 'RLIMIT_RSS' is set below the maximum sane threshold for cPanel to
    function. Currently it is set at [soft:78643200 hard:78643200]. Please
    increase it to at least 134217728.


    Since I recently had my IT company upgrade our Kernel to 2.6.9-42.0.10.EL , I had my IT company change the RLIMIT_RSS setting as suggested, and the issue is now resolved.
     
  12. IPSecureNetwork

    IPSecureNetwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i have freebsd 6.2 and i have the same problem with the blank pages after login in a few servers ..

    how can i set the rlimit_rss in the system ?
     
  13. kinsky

    kinsky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a same problem..
    I try to revert from Current to Stable and then update to Edge... but cpanel still show blank page..

    but WHM and Webmail can work properly

    FYI I'm using Fedora Core 4
     
  14. kinsky

    kinsky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If I don't mistaken there is rlimit on httpd.conf
     
  15. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't think that is the same thing as rlimit_rss. My IT company handled this for me, so I cannot explain how to do it.
     
  16. azrael

    azrael Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Check /var/cpanel/cpanel.config

    Cehck
    engine=cpanel (Not cpanel.pl.)
    enginepl=cpanel.pl
     
  17. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    That's one of the solutions. Good point. Oe of our clients had the same exact problem few days ago, but none of these solutions worked for him. To fix the problem, we had to rebuild several corrupted files.
     
  18. Naws

    Naws Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When this happened to us it was because the skin being used had somehow become linked to a non-existant one.
     
  19. jonwatson

    jonwatson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Damn fine question. Can anyone answer this?

    I'm having this problem sporadically. Restarting cPanel doesn't solve it, only a full system reboot. Which...well...certainly isn't desireable.
     
Loading...

Share This Page