The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BLOCK A DOMAIN access to my site

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Creazioni1, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. Creazioni1

    Creazioni1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    HI

    there is possibility to block access to my site from a domain??

    ThIS domain insert my banner into site and every 2 seconds open 400 process and apache go down

    can i block this domain?
     
  2. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try...

    cPanel - IP Deny Manager
     
  3. Creazioni1

    Creazioni1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    just do it:(

    i deny a domain not an IP
    (refer)
    thanks
     
  4. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Correct,

    You should be able to deny either an IP or a FQDN.
     
  5. Creazioni1

    Creazioni1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  6. Creazioni1

    Creazioni1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  7. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmmm...

    try editing your .htaccess to look something like this...

    <LIMIT GET POST>
    order deny,allow
    deny from www.sitename.com
    </LIMIT>


    see if that works?
     
  8. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    or block him our totally from your firewall, and don't even have httpd process his commands. simply drop the packets. more often than not, if it's a web server, it's got a static ip address.

    Do a ping and obtain the IP that way.

    Chew
     
  9. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Creazioni1,
    As bamasbest has suggested, you can block any domain by adding the LIMIT in the .htaccess file as follows,

    <Limit GET HEAD POST>
    order allow,deny
    deny from <Domain name you want to block>
    deny from <IP address of the domain>
    allow from all
    </LIMIT>

    You can generate code to block domains using the following link:
    http://htmlbasix.com/blockusers.shtml

    Regards, :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page