The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blocking a range of IP's in the IP deny manager

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AbeFroman, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I block a range of IP's in the cpanel IP deny manager?

    I want to block this range:
    209.66.64.0-209.66.127.255
     
  2. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    For a security expert you really do ask alot of questions.
     
  3. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Most security experts ask a lot of questions. :cool:

    Abe, what do you gain from leaving that tag in your signature line? I do not imagine you are generating a lot of business from it on these forums, and it seems to be a rallying point for people to give you grief.
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Very true. His past posts don't do merit for his signature. There have been a couple threads about it.


    I don't know if there is an easier way, but do know you can put:
    209.66.64
    209.66.65
    209.66.66
    .
    .
    209.66.127

    You could just put:
    209.66
     
  5. chae

    chae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    mmmhhh...he's probably just charged someone good money for that solution :eek:
     
  6. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    no doubt........
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    If he does get paid for it, he can always send me half. ;)
     
  8. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK, I'm no security expert. But I still would like an answer to this old question.

    The IP Deny Manager states:

    "This feature will allow you to block a range of IP addresses to prevent them from accessing your site. You can also enter a fully qualified domain name, and the IP Deny Manager will attempt to resolve it to an IP address for you. "

    Then it proceeds to ask "Add an IP Deny:"

    But it doesn't say, specifically, how to add a range of IPs.

    TIA for any help!

    - Scott
     
  9. Secmas

    Secmas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, I am new to the forum and I will greatly appreciate an info about this answer, does IP DENY MANAGER will prevent someone from the 209.66. range to enter into your site? Do I have to leave the second set of numbers with or without the "." in order for it to work?

    Regards,
    Secmas.
     
  10. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've been including the period, like:

    209.66.64.
    209.66.65.

    Not sure if they are required or not. Although it would be pretty easy to test, eh? Just put the beginning of your own IP in there temporarily, with and without the period. Yeah, I could do that too, but I know it's already working with the periods, so I'm just doing it that way.

    - Scott
     
  11. Secmas

    Secmas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thankyou Scott, it worked!!!

    I tried both with and without the period and it worked fine, it seems that it doesn´t matter.

    Thankyou for you answer.

    Regards,
    Sergio.
     
Loading...

Share This Page