The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bogus Archive Directory

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Sander-Rob, Dec 24, 2008.

  1. Sander-Rob

    Sander-Rob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I received a notice from one of my machines last night, that I have never seen before.

    Subject: Cron <mailman@webhost13> /usr/local/bin/python2.4 -S /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/cron/nightly_gzip

    Body
    **********
    List pricepage2_the-domain.com has a bogus archive_directory: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/archives/private/pricepage2_thedomain.com
    **********

    Anyone seen this before?
     
    #1 Sander-Rob, Dec 24, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2009
  2. gator

    gator Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For anyone else experiencing this error I received the above error message after transferring accounts to a new server. The multiple account copy under the latest release of Cpanel fails to copy the archive mail lists.

    It should copy the files under /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/archive/private (if my memory serves me). What I found there were empty files that should not have been files at all but directories with a bunch of stuff in them. I had to delete the empty files and manually copy the directories from the old server.

    This stopped the error messages and seems to have resolved the issue for me.
     
  3. safitech

    safitech Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've experienced this as well...

    I've found this same problem... hope this is fixed soon. Its caused an issue with some recent clients being moved around. Kind of a huge miss for the account transfer system and a bug that shouldn't have come up. :(
     
    #3 safitech, Feb 1, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  4. cPanelCory

    cPanelCory Developer - cPanel Security Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm sorry you guys are seeing issues with mailman archives during transfers, can you please submit tickets here: https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit and we will investigate them.

    Thank you,
     
  5. safitech

    safitech Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ticket Details...

    Though I don't expect you to be able to fix anything as I'll be restoring the archives from backups within the next 12hrs if you wish to do any research to help you find the bug and patch it I've submitted a ticket.

    Details are below. Thanks!

    [cPanel ID# 372733] Re: Bogus Mailman Archive (missing archives) After Account Transfers
     
    #5 safitech, Feb 2, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  6. bear

    bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We'd come across the very same thing, and SCP'ed the directories, CHOWN and done. On moving it to the new box, the link to the public archives from the admin area are pointing to something like: "domain.name/pipermail/listname_domain.name"

    That doesn't work at all, and is present on all lists with public archives.
    Still trying to fix that one. Any thoughts would be great.
     
  7. bear

    bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No fix apparently. Cpanel sets the list up with the domain name as the owner, and in the default config file for Mailman is this:
    This grabs "domain.name" instead of the the server hostname, and that link (domain.name/pipermail) doesn't exist...unless I've missed something basic.
     
Loading...

Share This Page