The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boxtrapper support

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rkinch, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. rkinch

    rkinch Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am reselling hosting space from a hosting company. I have recently began heavily promoting the boxtrapper feature. It was suddenly removed from Cpanel this morning at my hosting company. They told me CPanel no longer supports it.

    Is this really true? I found that surprising since an update was just posted to it.

    R. Kinch
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'm not aware that they've stopped supporting it. However, it's a very poor feature and I would imagine your host disabled it to protect the server from getting into spam blacklists which is extremely easily done because of flaws in the principle in the way it works.
     
  3. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It''s also rather heavy on resources, which could be why they disabled it. On three email accounts we saw our server load go up by 4
     
  4. jsnape

    jsnape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Don't worry, it's just a temporary removal. As soon as you host updates cpanel it will magically come back and resume its destruction on your server.
     
  5. claudio

    claudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    in my servers i have disabled this due sometimes it causes overload in the server

    i will give it a try when i order a ram upgrade, but spamd and this things consumes a lot of resources so there is many companies that might disable it in some servers
     
Loading...

Share This Page