The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Branding and style selection not holding

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by Monkeyshack, May 6, 2007.

  1. Monkeyshack

    Monkeyshack Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good work on v11 but I have some problems/concerns.

    1. When I click in branding and it allows me to check and un-check which styles will and will not show up there should be an apply button --wait I just realized that it is forcing you to have 2 styles checked.... why is that I only want my branding style shown... please fix that.

    2. My branding default doesn't stick. When I choose it as default and look at the accounts right away it shows but if I log-out and log back in to them it goes back to cpanel default not my own branding. My current style is set as my own.. is this something that has to be set in each account... if so that is a pain.

    Thanks for anything that can shed light on these problems.

    WHM 11.1.0 cPanel 11.2.5-C11736
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
    :D
     
  2. RationalRabbit

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same Problem

    I, too, am having the same problem.

    After spending my morning editing several themes, I don't seem to have any way of implementing them.

    I can go to my main account and change the theme for a session, but once logged off, that setting is gone.

    I selected to "Save for my Account", as well as saving a default theme, and selecting this same theme for the default for all accounts, as well as new accounts.

    I edited one user file manually, changing the RS variable to "x3", but this brought up the default theme, and not my branding changes.

    If someone can tell me a fix for this, even if it is going in to individual user's files and editing info, I would certainly appreciate it, so I can get this done and move on to other things.
     
  3. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Same problem here, branding doesn't stick with x3 theme.

    I modified the "crimson_smoke" style of the x3 theme, made it default and migrated all our accounts and packages to x3.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't stick. I can see the x3 theme with the "crimson_smoke" style when i'm doing the branding, but once i login to cpanel via one of the hosted accounts then all i see is the plain "root" style with no branding.

    Anyone got a solution please?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Those are definitely some issues our support staff should have a look at. Anyone (with root access of course) experiencing these issues should feel free to submit a support ticket regarding these issues so they can be resolved.
     
    #4 cPanelDavidG, Aug 27, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2007
  5. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Here is what i believe is happening:

    Branding works for the "owner" of the account, but not above the "owner".

    For example:

    1) "domain1.com" is a reseller
    2) "domain2.com" is owned by reseller (1)
    3) "domain3.com" is owned by root


    now, if you use login to WHM as root and brand your x3 style, then only (3) will be able to "see" it.

    if you login to WHM as reseller (1) then any branding you do will only be seen by (2) and yourself the reseller (1).

    as a result, you have to do your branding ONCE for the root and for as many resellers that you have! (or the resellers must do it on their own).

    cPanel should document this and explain it better, maybe a nice "warning" in WHM's branding when the user is logged in as root should explain that branding won't work unless you login as every single reseller and re-do the branding.

    otherwise, cPanel developers must create a "apply to all" button that means apply to resellers and their resold domains as well.
     
  6. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    I've done that, but it made no difference. When i log in via a reseller account, they are still using different skin or style.
     
  7. cpanelgermain

    cpanelgermain Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Investigating the problem

    Will post when I have more info about problem/fix.
     
  8. HaveHost

    HaveHost Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I too just went through the "trouble" of modifying the X3 skin "root" style and turned off all the others. Fine. Now, the only one who gets the fully skinned is me, with root access to the overall WHM for the entire system.

    I've changed my packages to use X3. Which is fine... they got the v11 but my changes to the root style skin for X3 are not showing.

    This needs attention right away... I sent from having a fully skinned cPanel site that matched my own site to something terribly ugly...

    Cheers!
    James
     
  9. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Yeah, apparently the "apply to all" doesn't work.

    You'll have to re-do everything for every single reseller in order for the changes to appear in your users.
     
  10. HaveHost

    HaveHost Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Actually, none of my own clients (reseller or not) have the branding added. In fact, they seem to be able to STILL change their styles, even though I've turned them all off, except for the root style - which I rebranded to match my site - so dunno why that isn't working...
     
Loading...

Share This Page