The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

British Telecom business users cannot see my website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by miketisha, Jun 14, 2004.

  1. miketisha

    miketisha Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    On www.ustc.co.uk We have have complaints from some users that they cannot view the website.
    On further investigation with BT (British Telecom) we are told that their business customers cannot view this website, although home users can. BT have told us that it is nothing to do with them and that the problem lies with the server provider (yourselves). Is there some kind of IP block or something like that?
    This is an urgent problem that must be fixed. We transferred this website because of superior server performance and am considering transferring almost 100 websites. What steps can you take quickly to allow my customers to view this website?
     
  2. coastinc

    coastinc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You may have DNS configured incorrectly.... Within the US, most ISP's will be able to connect to your site even if there is a minor problem with DNS, but most all other countries are more sensitive to syntax and configuration.

    If you would like us to help you with this, drop us an e-mail.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    cPanel don't provide servers, do you know who your server provider is?
    What a load of drivel, where on earth did you dig that rubbish up from?
    Rather than just soliciting for business why not take the time to help the person here so that others can learn too.

    Anyway, looking at your DNS, it appears to be just fine - which BT could tell themselves. I wouldn't trust a word they say as it is likely to change each time you talk to them.

    I would suspect that either they've got a routing problem, or your server provider does (less likely) at their end and that is what is blocking their customers from visiting your site (I'm in the UK and can browse your site just fine).
     
  4. coastinc

    coastinc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have many customers that have come to us with the *exact* same symptons and it was a misconfiguration of DNS. I didn't guarantee his was the same problem, I was making a determination based on what he said.

    I still stand by what I said, if he wants us to take a look at it, he'll contact us....
     
  5. challii

    challii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    check to make sure your DNS is set up right.... i believe (if this is the same issue tht was bugging our server) Tiscali and wanadoo users may also be having problems.

    I *think* we fixed this by changing rndc-key to rndckey in the appropriate places. A quick search on google will tell you all about this.
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have no intention of starting a flame war but will have to side with chirpy
    regarding the posting by coastinc on every message with a business solicitation.
     
  7. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you can, try and get someone with the problem accessing the site to get a traceroute from them to the server, you should then be able to see where it is stopping.
     
  8. JC

    JC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is interesting. Can you elaborate more on this?
    Thanks
     
  9. challii

    challii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i followed this topic here http://forums.servermatrix.com/viewtopic.php?t=168 and it seems to have solved most of our dns problems. My site for some strange reason seems to be the only one that doesnt work now! but hey i can probably fix that with a bit more tweaking.

    Hope tht helps,,, i have no idea what the difference is between rndc-key and rdnckey all I can say is I think it made some difference.
     
  10. chmod

    chmod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London - UK
    Your site works for me via wannadoo (freeserve). I`m in the UK
     

Share This Page