The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BUG in BUILDAPACHE!!!

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by rs-freddo, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Whether you have the "don't upgrade apache if current" checked or NOT. It will never rebuild Apache. Serious problems trying to add phpsuexec without rebuilding Apache too.
     
  2. jdonoso

    jdonoso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Third Rock from The Sun!
    Which version of cPanel are you running?
     
  3. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It doesn't matter, buildapache updates /scripts before doing a build.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's naughty. Have you logged in with an appropriate priority in bugzilla?
     
  5. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I logged a ticket. cPanel ID# 86029
     
  6. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  7. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The cPanel Tech was mistaken.... shame they didn't test it....

    trying your way....

    Nope didn't work... <sigh>
     
    #8 rs-freddo, Jan 10, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2005
  9. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    What issue are you having, I cannot replicate any errors now at all.
     
  10. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    easyapache won't build apache - builds php just fine. i need to install phpsuexec and am running the latest apache.
     
  11. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    root@secure [/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache]# /scripts/easyapache
    shell-init: could not get current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
    shell-init: could not get current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
    --14:53:32-- http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea
    => `buildapache.sea'
    Resolving layer1.cpanel.net... done.
    Connecting to layer1.cpanel.net[69.57.175.114]:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 134,257 [text/plain]

    100%[====================================>] 134,257 524.44K/s ETA 00:00

    14:53:32 (524.44 KB/s) - `buildapache.sea' saved [134257/134257]

    Creating directory buildapache
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing buildapache........................................................................................................................
    Verifying compiler and libs....Updating /scripts...Done
    Verifying installation....
    Fetching Obsoletes list for channel: rhel-i386-es-3...

    Fetching rpm headers...

    Name Version Rel
    ----------------------------------------------------------


    The following packages you requested are already updated:
    wget

    Fetching Obsoletes list for channel: rhel-i386-es-3...

    Fetching rpm headers...

    Name Version Rel
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    aspell 0.33.7.1 25.3 i386
    aspell-devel 0.33.7.1 25.3 i386
    libungif-devel 4.1.0 15 i386
    openssl 0.9.7a 33.12 i686
    openssl-devel 0.9.7a 33.12 i386


    Testing package set / solving RPM inter-dependencies...
    RPM package conflict error. The message was:
    Test install failed because of package conflicts:
    The following packages were added to your selection to satisfy dependencies:
    Name Version Release
    --------------------------------------------------------------
    aspell-config 0.33.7.1 25.3

    package openssl-0.9.7a-33.12 is already installed
    package openssl-devel-0.9.7a-33.12 is already installed

    Done
    Done
    ********************************
    This is buildapache version 9.9.9f
    ********************************

    If you have installed third party modules that buildapache does not install, you will probably need to recompile them after apache is rebuilt. You may experience an unusable apache that produces segmentation faults until the old modules are recompiled or removed.

    Select skill level:
    If it is possible for you to run phpsuexec, we recommend you do this
    by choosing option 2, or using the advanced options.

    phpsuexec combinded with webroot protection will prevent people
    from reading other users webroots. If you are unable to use
    phpsuexec we recommend you enable PHP open_basedir security
    inside of Web Host Manager.

    The following does not work with phpsuexec: php commands in
    .htaccess, php http authentication.

    1) Beginner without/phpsuexec + webroot protection support (*** DEFAULT ***)
    2) Beginner with/phpsuexec support + web root protection
    3) Beginner with/php mcrypt support (if php will not compile, you must choose option 1)
    4) Beginner with/php gd+freetype support (if php will not compile, you must choose option 1)
    5) Beginner with/php gd+freetype+mcrypt support (if php will not compile, you must choose option 1)
    6) Advanced (Experts Only, At Your Own Risk)
    7) Advanced [Load Previous Config] (Experts Only, At Your Own Risk)
    8) Failsafe mode (Resets apache config to default, USE ONLY AS A LAST RESORT)
    ---->7
    make lxdialog...(clean)....Done
    make lxdialog........Done


    *** Changes Saved

    [Tue Jan 11 14:56:50 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.15.120.38:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Tue Jan 11 14:56:50 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.15.120.38:80 has no VirtualHosts
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started
    Setting /home permissions to 0711......Done
    Setting permissions for.....nfsnobody...admin...cpanel...mailman...srvr8co...sitensho...clamav...payitco......Done
    14:56:51 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/libmcrypt-2.5.7.tar.gz [523321/523321] -> "libmcrypt-2.5.7.tar.gz" [1]
    Untarring mcryptDone
    configure libmcrypt-2.5.7...(--prefix=/usr --disable-posix-threads)..........Done
    make libmcrypt-2.5.7.......................Done
    make libmcrypt-2.5.7...(install)....Done
    14:57:17 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/mhash-0.8.18.tar.gz [347483/347483] -> "mhash-0.8.18.tar.gz" [1]
    Untarring mhashDone
    configure mhash-0.8.18...(--prefix=/usr)..........Done
    make mhash-0.8.18................Done
    make mhash-0.8.18...(install)....Done
    14:57:38 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/libxml2-2.6.11.tar.gz [3693599/3693599] -> "libxml2-2.6.11.tar.gz" [1]
    configure libxml2-2.6.11...(--prefix=/usr)...................Done
    make libxml2-2.6.11..........................................................................................................................Done
    make libxml2-2.6.11...(install).....Done
    14:59:56 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/libxslt-1.1.8.tar.gz [2568146/2568146] -> "libxslt-1.1.8.tar.gz" [1]
    configure libxslt-1.1.8...(--prefix=/usr)..................Done
    make libxslt-1.1.8.....................................Done
    make libxslt-1.1.8...(install).....Done
    15:00:46 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/zziplib-0.13.36.tar.bz2 [467327/467327] -> "zziplib-0.13.36.tar.bz2" [1]
    configure zziplib-0.13.36...(--prefix=/usr)...........Done
    make zziplib-0.13.36...............Done
    make zziplib-0.13.36...(install)......Done
    15:01:08 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/curl-7.12.0.tar.gz [1520041/1520041] -> "curl-7.12.0.tar.gz" [1]
    Untarring curl......Done
    configure curl-7.12.0...(--prefix=/usr).......................Done
    make curl-7.12.0.........................................Done
    make curl-7.12.0...(install).....Done

    Fetching Obsoletes list for channel: rhel-i386-es-3...

    Fetching rpm headers...

    Name Version Rel
    ----------------------------------------------------------


    The following packages you requested are already updated:
    gettext
    15:02:12 URL:http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache/1/php-4.3.10.tar.gz [4892209/4892209] -> "php-4.3.10.tar.gz" [1]
    Untarring php....Done
    Applying CURL curl_formfree patch
    patching file ext/curl/curl.c
    Hunk #1 succeeded at 563 (offset 18 lines).
    Hunk #2 succeeded at 892 (offset 7 lines).
    configure php-4.3.10...(--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --with-curl --with-dom --with-dom-xslt --with-dom-exslt --enable-ftp --with-gd --with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local --with-png-dir=/usr --with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6 --with-gettext --with-mcrypt --with-mhash --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-safe-mode --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-ttf --with-freetype-dir=/usr --enable-gd-native-ttf --enable-versioning --enable-wddx --with-xmlrpc --with-zip --with-zlib)...................................Done
    make php-4.3.10...(clean)....Done
    make php-4.3.10........................................................................................................................................Done
    make php-4.3.10...(install)...........Done
    [Tue Jan 11 15:05:06 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.15.120.38:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Tue Jan 11 15:05:06 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.15.120.38:80 has no VirtualHosts
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started
    configure php-4.3.10...(--prefix=/usr --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --with-curl --with-dom --with-dom-xslt --with-dom-exslt --enable-ftp --with-gd --with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local --with-png-dir=/usr --with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6 --with-gettext --with-mcrypt --with-mhash --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-safe-mode --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-ttf --with-freetype-dir=/usr --enable-gd-native-ttf --enable-versioning --enable-wddx --with-xmlrpc --with-zip --with-zlib)................Done
    make php-4.3.10...(clean)....Done
    make php-4.3.10.................................................................................................Done
    make php-4.3.10...(install)..........Done
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    PHP version file is up to date
    Executing /scripts/postbuildapache (if exists)...Done
    [Tue Jan 11 15:07:10 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.15.120.38:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Tue Jan 11 15:07:10 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.15.120.38:80 has no VirtualHosts
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started
    Waiting for httpd to restart..............finished.

    root 6906 0.1 0.2 5428 3028 ? S 15:07 0:00 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL

    httpd started ok

    No building of Apache - but it does build php twice....
     
  12. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    its supposed to build php twice like that.
    As for the apache not building open up a ticket and I will look at your server to see why not.
    /edit
    nm I see ticket # and am looking will update
    /edit2
    If you refuse to give login information I cannot help you
     
  13. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Be sure you only edit that file after it's paused asking you what skill level to choose. If you do it before or after it will not work
     
  14. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel techs changed the file. I'm going to go through the file line by line tomorrow. It now checks for phpsuexec, but i believe - incorrectly. That's why i believe my changing to the print 1 at the end of the file didn't work. It must have exited first. I believe I actually need to force a print 1 before it does it's checking for phpsuexec. Anyway I'll go through the code tomorrow and fix it.

    Hmmm, I changed the file after I'd filled out all the options and it asked whether i wanted to save the options. Was that too late??? It remained changed after the rebuild...
     
    #14 rs-freddo, Jan 11, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  15. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No that should be fine as well - the 'point in time' only has to be between starting buildapache (and hence causing the latest buildapache scripts to be unpacked) and before compilation is started.
     
  16. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey philB are you sure httpd compiled. I placed
    print"1";
    exit();
    right at the beginning of that file and couldn't get apache to compile. Sure the httpd.conf file was updated commenting out mod_php4 and adding an apache handler - but the httpd binary sure wasn't compiled.

    Did you get the apache.tar.gz to untar and compile?
    do
    /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -v
    and check the date httpd was compiled, is this correct? Mine still reports Dec 19 - so it doesn't have phpsuexec patched in.
    As far as I can see it sets php as cgi but doesn't recompile apache, so phpsuexec is not functioning. PHP is just cgi without phpsuexec functioning...

    =====================

    Billy, you guys added:
    my $phpsuexec = $ARGV[1];

    if ($phpsuexec && !$hasphpsuexec) {
    print "1";
    exit();
    }
    if (!$phpsuexec && $hasphpsuexec) {
    print "1";
    exit();
    }
    to checkapsetup.
    Are you aware that its called in buildscript like this:
    if [ "0" = "1" ]; then
    NEEDSBUILD=`./checkapsetup 2.0.52 0`
    else
    NEEDSBUILD=`./checkapsetup 1.3.33 0`
    fi
    which means $ARG[1] will always equal 0 and therefore $phpsuexec will be False ALWAYS.
    No much point testing $phpsuexec if it's always false.
    Are you sure you guys have tested this????
     
  17. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Michael,

    Absolutely sure - I couldn't get it to compile in phpsuexec until I did this workaround and then it compiled right in front of me.

    I'll get the latest buildapache files as soon as I get to the office and I'll take them apart and tell you how to make it build again for you - they've obviously moved the goalposts.

    Oh wait - I just remembered - apache_prep is built on the fly from your settings that you've piicked when configuring the options. That 0 has been fed in when apache_prep was built. Somewhere along the line, if you're sure phpsuexec was ticked, they've messed up the code that writes the apache_prep file
     
    #17 philb, Jan 12, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2005
  18. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [deleted: no wait, that's wrong - didnt see the else.]

    Basically the whole problem has arisen due to a bit of a logic error. The apache_prep script should start with needsbuild=1 and then with the first test set it to 0 initially if the user has elected not to build it AND it is up to date, and then set it back to 1 if build-critical components have changed since the last build.
     
    #18 philb, Jan 12, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2005
  19. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "it means you're not leaving "skip apache build if up to date" ticked, to enter that if branch"

    Yes, i didn't have that ticked. I see your logic. Tick it to force it to check then trick it into building apache.

    I'll give it a go in the morning. Thanks.
     
  20. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any luck?

    ---blah blah, space filler---
     
Loading...

Share This Page