The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bug - On Edit A DNS Zone

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by zigzam, May 11, 2008.

  1. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When you try to un-check:

    Always accept mail locally even if the primary mx does not point to this server.

    and click save. The results are not saved in the system.
     
  2. cPanelCory

    cPanelCory Developer - cPanel Security Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What version of WHM/cPanel are you using right now? I couldn't duplicate it on CURRENT.
     
  3. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.6-R24255
     
  4. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just tested it on a few other servers and it works. Any idea what might be the issue on this server?
     
  5. cPanelCory

    cPanelCory Developer - cPanel Security Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just tested it also and it was moving the domain back and forth between /etc/remotedomains and /etc/localdomains as well as the check mark was saving its configuration between changes.

    Have you checked that the domain is moving out of /etc/localdomains when you uncheck it? (even if the check mark is still there when you come back to the edit DNS screen)
     
  6. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The domain does not move from localdomains. I tested several domains on the server and none of them work. I tried a force cpanel update and that didn't fix the issue.
     
  7. cPanelCory

    cPanelCory Developer - cPanel Security Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you checked the permissions on the file? Is there anything being sent to /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log when you go to save the DNS edit?

    If those do not give you some clue you can open a ticket and we will take a look:

    tickets.cpanel.net
     
  8. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is nothing in the error log.

    Permissions are:

    -rw-rw---- 1 root mail 21417 May 11 22:55 localdomains

    -rw-rw---- 1 root mail 30 May 11 22:52 remotedomains


    Let me know if those are correct. If not I will open a ticket.
     
  9. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I put a ticket in:

    Your Request id is: 251046
     
  10. Arun

    Arun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Make sure: WHM > Tweak Settings > "Automatically setup /etc/localdomains, /etc/remotedomains, /etc/secondarymx based on where the mx entry is pointed" is enabled.
     
Loading...

Share This Page