Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Bugzilla - Why bother?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nickp666, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm running WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.3-R25971

    At first I wondered what was wrong with that response, but then I did some investigating.

    Adding the full SPF record from WHM / Edit DNS is no problem - works fine.

    Adding the record of yours via Cpanel / Email Authentication yields a problem. There is a field length limit apparently.

    I started by adding the IP address and the netblock. Saved it. everything fine. Then added cerberus.carbidefinger.net. Saved it. Worked fine. Then added voodoo.carbidefinger.net. Saved it. Worked fine.

    Then added moon.carbidefinger.net. Saved it. Everything fine.

    Cpanel interface reported:
    Your raw SPF record is : v=spf1 a mx ip4:209.240.24.1 a:cerberus.carbidefinger.net a:voodoo.carbidefinger.net a:moon.carbidefinger.net ip4:89.20.200.32/27 ?all

    dig domain.com txt revealed:
    "v=spf1 a mx ip4:xxx.xxx.xx.x a:cerberus.carbidefinger.net a:voodoo.carbidefinger.net a:moon.carbidefinger.net ip4:89.20.200.32/27 ?all"

    Then added bonham.carbidefinger.net. Saved it. Problem!

    Cpanel interface reported:
    Your raw SPF record is : v=spf1 a mx ip4:xxx.xxx.xx.x a:cerberus.carbidefinger.net a:voodoo.carbidefinger.net a:moon.carbidefinger.net a:bonham.carbidefinger.net ip ?all

    dig domain.com txt revealed:
    "v=spf1 a mx ip4:209.240.24.1 a:cerberus.carbidefinger.net a:voodoo.carbidefinger.net a:moon.carbidefinger.net a:bonham.carbidefinger.net ip ?all"

    Take a look - it's obviously an issue with some field in the Cpanel interface not allowing over a certain number of entries to be added - It's a space issue. It adds the record to DNS but limits it.

    So it may be an issue / bug. Most people probably don't notice it beacuse they likely don't add that much via the Cpanel interface.

    NOTE: I have no idea what the limitation is of a TXT record itself. Perhaps Cpanel knows there is a limitation on the length of a TXT record. Or, it could simply be that the Cpanel folks need to fix this one. It may be that TXT records can only be a certain length (perhaps 255 chars to the right of the TXT in DNS).

    So don't jump to conclusions yet. But yeah, the response was a little abrupt. That wasn't a response to a support ticket though, so I wouldn't be bothered nearly as much as I would if I got blown off that easily on a support ticket.

    Mike
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Thanks for clarifying that it isnt only me seeing it.


    I posted it here just to highlight how little is actually done when people post bugs, I made a point of checking it on a few servers before I actually posted it, so its not like its a wild goose chase for them, I was just annoyed that the bug request was not even looked at properly, or what I was saying even challenged in the slightest.


    With that said I do understand the frustration software dev teams encounter from mis-reported bugs due to user errors etc, but I dont report bugs unless I know for sure they exist!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. koolcards

    koolcards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    There's no restriction in the RFC:
    http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc1464
    But BIND9 does:
    http://www.isc.org/sw/bind/bind8-9_migration.php
    So, when there are long TXT lines, break them "\"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice