The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bulk Email Sending

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by tedwardson, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. tedwardson

    tedwardson Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I maintain database of my customers email addresses and I have previously used a bureau servce to send promotional emails.

    I now wish to do this myself using bulk email software and building my own html mailshots.

    However I have tried to do this but the server is returnig 50% or more of the emails that I am sending, this is what I receive :

    CHANNEL: 0
    Connecting to: mail.golfballs-r-us.com
    MAIL SERVER RESPONSES FOLLOW:
    S: 220-orlando.anyservers.com ESMTP Exim 4.52 #1 Thu, 15 Sep 2005 07:27:56 -0400
    220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited,
    220 and/or bulk e-mail.

    I am not spamming and all my email addresses have permission.

    Is there any way that the mail server can be set up individually to stop this happening ?

    Thanks

    Tom
     
  2. PDW

    PDW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds like the server only allows so many emails to relay before it stops. I do this with my server as well. like 60 emails in an hour. something like that I think
     
  3. tedwardson

    tedwardson Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    Thanks for the reply.

    Can this be altered ? That is can the settings for sending emails on the mail server be changed ?

    Thanks

    Tom
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you are an end-user you need to speak to your web hosting company about this.

    However, if you have WHM access then the setting is under Tweak Settings.
     
  5. tedwardson

    tedwardson Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    Thanks for the reply I have Cpanel but I am not sure about WHM access, can you clarify - Sorry !

    Is this an addon for Cpanel users ?

    Thanks

    Tom
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    WHM is the backend part of cPanel where the whole server is configured. If you don't have access to that then presumably you're a web hosting client and as such need to contact your web hosting provider.
     
Loading...

Share This Page