The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

C Panel enduser problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vulkan, May 8, 2004.

1. vulkan

vulkan Registered

I'm an end user of CPanel, as a Web Designer I use a WHM/CPanel based reseller account because it gives me great flexibility and easy management of client accounts.

However, my current hosting provider for the last two years has just pulled the same stunt on me as my previous one did:

All my 13 CPanel accounts (under a single WHM account) Webalizer statistics froze last month between 15th and 27th. They failed to restart on 1st May. When I complained and asked them to be particularly careful NOT to loose any historical data they managed to restart a couple (briefly), lost all but three months data on one (an important client of course...) and the rest remained frozen.
    I asked again, and complained about the lost data, asking them to please avoid any further loss.
    I was told the loss was caused by a Webalizer update and was unavoidable, but that everything was fixed now.
    24 hours later the situation remains unchanged... NONE of the accounts statistics work.

Now, my remedy is pretty obvious, BUT, before I go find yet another web host with CPanel (I thought this was sensible previously as relocating large sites with lot's of add ons on a system you are familiar with has got to be easier than jumping into a whole new system?) there's something I need to know:

Is this 'CPanel updates automatically and is responsible for everything that goes wrong' line my current and previous web hosts have used to explain an identical problem occuring twice in a two year period true?