Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Cache Directory

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PCZero, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Recently all of the accounts on my server have a cache directory at the home root level. What is this directory caching?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    To clarify, are you referring to a /home/$username/cache location? Have you entered the directory to see the type of content stored?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes sir that is what I am talking about. I did go into the directory and investigate. I see a HUGE umber of files, mostly 0 bytes and a very few others are 7 bytes, all named cache_*. There is a single file other than those named horde_cache_gc. This (of course) indicates it has something to do with horde. o my knowledge, none of my sites use horde, then again my knowledge of that software, its use and funcationality, is lacking.
     
  4. Jescp

    Jescp Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This happened to me after an update of some sort last night, on 2 different cPanel VPSs. Every single user has a new directory /home/$username/cache with around 80 randomly-generated cache_* files each in them. I can't seem to find anything about it in the release notes, the data in the cache directory isn't forthcoming about what's in there (though I admittedly didn't examine all 2755 new files), and I'm a bit concerned that something's been activated that I might not want, or at least ought to be able to configure before switching on.

    Please answer the OP's question.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It should just be the Horde cache files, but please feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can review the files and verify they are legitimate. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice