The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CachedDataStore.pm line 92

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by marsha, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. marsha

    marsha Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have cpanel backup running to a drive and now the resellers are not being backed up, but regular sites are, when I looked in the cpbackup folder I found tar files for all my sites and resellers plus folders for the resellers, and 0 byte files for them. The reseller tar files were 0 byte the others seem good I used one to restore a site and it worked find
    The error I am getting is

    [cpbackup] Started at Tue Jun 17 01:00:01 2008
    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 7.1 - archive version: 2 - running with uid 0
    using time::hires for speedups
    Copying Reseller Config...can't get exclusive lock on /backup//cpbackup/daily/thetopto/resellerconfig/my_reseller-limits.cache: No locks available at /scripts/cPScript/CachedDataStore.pm line 92
    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 7.1 - archive version: 2 - running with uid 0
    using time::hires for speedups
    Copying Reseller Config...can't get exclusive lock on /backup//cpbackup/daily/bonofi/resellerconfig/my_reseller-limits.cache: No locks available at /scripts/cPScript/CachedDataStore.pm line 92
    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 7.1 - archive version: 2 - running with uid 0
    using time::hires for speedups

    What am I missing?
     
    #1 marsha, Jun 17, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  2. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    This happens when something already has a system flock() on the given .cache file.

    I'm looking into a solution now, would you be able to create a ticket so I can investigate the issue on a box that is exhibiting this behavior?

    Just make it 'ATTN: Dan' and reference this forum thread

    thanks
     
  3. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I can't reproduce this, I'll definitley have to have a sytem that exhibits this problem as it appears to be a very low level flock() issue.

    A good starting point woudl be the output of this command on said box:

    perl -le 'require Config;print "$_ : $Config::Config{$_}" for qw(d_flock d_fcntl_can_lock d_lockf);'
     
  4. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Also this may be helpful to know:

    perl -le 'use POSIX;use Storable;print $];print $POSIX::VERSION;print $Storable::VERSION;'
     
  5. marsha

    marsha Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is what I got. I will open a ticket...


    root@cor1web [~]# perl -le 'require Config;print "$_ : $Config::Config{$_}" for qw(d_flock d_fcntl_can_lock d_lockf);'
    d_flock : define
    d_fcntl_can_lock : define
    d_lockf : define
    root@cor1web [~]#


    root@cor1web [~]# perl -le 'use POSIX;use Storable;print $];print $POSIX::VERSION;print $Storable::VERSION;'
    5.008008
    1.09
    2.18
    root@cor1web [~]#
     
  6. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
  7. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    /backup does not do flock(2)

    root@cor1web [~]# touch /testroot@cor1web [~]# perl -e 'use Storable;open(my
    $fh, "<", $ARGV[1]) or die "open: $!";print
    "OPENED\n";alarm(5);flock($fh, 2) or die "flock:
    $!";alarm(0);print "FLOCKED\n";alarm($ARGV[0]) if
    $ARGV[0];Storable::lock_store({}, $ARGV[0]);print "STORED\n";' 4
    /test
    OPENED
    FLOCKED
    STORED
    root@cor1web [~]# touch /backup/testroot@cor1web [~]# perl -e 'use
    Storable;open(my $fh, "<", $ARGV[1]) or die "open:
    $!";print "OPENED\n";alarm(5);flock($fh, 2) or die "flock:
    $!";alarm(0);print "FLOCKED\n";alarm($ARGV[0]) if
    $ARGV[0];Storable::lock_store({}, $ARGV[0]);print "STORED\n";' 4
    /backup/test
    OPENED
    flock: No locks available at -e line 1.
    root@cor1web [~]#

    because /backups is an NFS mount

    XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:/XXX/backup /backup nfs defaults 0 3
     
  8. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    NFS problem worked around in rev 25608
     
  9. marsha

    marsha Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you

    Thank you very much...

    I did the nfs to locate my backups on a machine here that is located in a 1947 bank vault thinking anti theif and fireproof... Insurance will replace machines but not data..:}

    Marsha Black
     
  10. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No problem, NFS is persnickety
     
  11. astopy

    astopy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm getting this same problem on the latest STABLE. Looking at the changelog, it looks like the workaround is only in EDGE?

    This isn't a huge deal for me, as the only reseller accounts we have are staff/admin accounts, so it's not vital that they be backed up, but do you have an estimate on how long it will be until this hits STABLE?
     
  12. jmcole

    jmcole Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We are upgrading our production server to EDGE to get this fix, we'd really appreciate it if this was moved into Release or Current at minimum, thank you!

    We have no choice as the reseller account on this particular server has over 20GB of data to backup to our new NFS mounted /backup. Can't risk running ftp/compressed backups considering the size of their account so we have no other choice it seems at this time!

    I hate running production servers on EDGE, wish us luck. :(
     
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    CURRENT was published last night with this fix.
     
Loading...

Share This Page