The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can Add-on domain have a dedicate IP?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by XPerties, Jul 30, 2003.

  1. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    is this possible and if so how?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Sure can. You will just have to do all of the work manually since cPanel doesn't have a script to complete this automagically.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Great, and may I ask how this would be done.

    Thanks for your fast responce.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Remove the IP you want to use from /etc/ipaddrpool

    Add the correct lines to /etc/domainips

    Edit /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf, locate the entry for the domain name in question and change its virtual host entry to reflect the new IP. Restart Apache.

    Edit the domain names zone file to reflect its new IP. Restart BIND.

    I think that's pretty much it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    wow, I thought it would be something easy like editing the DNS entry. Hmmm, Ok Ill give that a shot.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Also be sure to edit your ftp config file and restart that as well.

    Making backups of config files before you masticate them is probably a good idea ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page