The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can anyone explain how this works please?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mkalg, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. mkalg

    mkalg Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I will keep it simple:

    domains, hosting, parked pages

    1) I have an index.html page in my /cpanel3-skel/public_html directory. This works great when a client creates a hosting package with my awbs/ enom system . cPanel scripts create the package and copies the contents of my /cpanel3-skel directories to the new hosting account. I have put Javascript in the index.html page that displays the new domain name in the page as parked.

    Now....

    2) someone registers a domain name with my awbs/ enom system but does not order a hosting package. So cPanel does not do what it did above. The problem now is that if you type the new domain into the address bar all you get is: "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"

    Example: http://morocco-handicrafts.com/
    And a whois search on the above shows

    Nameservers:
    ns2.algarvewebhosting.com
    ns1.algarvewebhosting.com

    Can anyone explain how I get a parked page to display in the above situation?

    Surely there is a simple answer like add some text to a box somewhere!

    What is the best practise for this?

    Thank you
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let me understand this. You want your billing system not to create an account or tell cPanel/WHM to host the domain (as they did not purchase a hosting package), but you still want an account created and for cPanel/WHM to host the domain?

    You may wish to consult the documentation of your billing software to see if you can route such a thing to instead mean create the account but with a separate package (one you create in WHM that is highly restrictive thus essentially not providing any usable web hosting).
     
  3. mkalg

    mkalg Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What I want is this:

    What I want is this:

    When a client orders a domain name that I then register through my enom account, all done using awbs sysytem. I would like this domain name to then show a parked page. Until such time as the client buys a hosting package, some never do, but I would like a default "parked page" rather than "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"
    which is what happens at the moment.

    Is it possible to to show this parked page without creating a hosting account?

    Thank you

    Mike
     
    #3 mkalg, Oct 30, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2007
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    From cPanel/WHM, you could always create a parked page and then park your parked domains onto the domain hosting the parked page.

    As for the inner workings of AWBS, as that's not produced by cPanel, I am not intimately familiar with that product. It wouldn't hurt to contact their support staff and see what suggestions they may have.
     
  5. mkalg

    mkalg Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    At the moment this is what I do for my own domains.

    Thanks for your reply.

    At the moment this is what I do for my own domains. But if I did this for my clients it would have to be done manually for every registration! Then when a client decides to order a hosting package cPanel will not create the package as that domain is already parked!
    So this is not really an option.

    After speaking to AWBS staff they advised I look at this site to find the answer.

    I'm sure that you go to any domain sales site, order a domain and I'm pretty certain that a parked page will show automatically. I just need to know how this is done.

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page