The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I access to https area using ftp?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by webarton, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. webarton

    webarton Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I installed osCommerce via CPanel.
    I checked my site shows osCommerce sample items but
    when I click 'my account' button, it links https://domain/account.php and page not found.

    Actually account.php is under public_html now(http://domain/account.php).
    Should I move it to https area? I don't know how to do it.
    Can I access to https area using ftp?

    If I'm in a wrong way, I appreciate someone corrects me.
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I assume "my account" would be a user osc account, yes? Your script is trying to use ssl to get in the client account. I am not very familiar with osc but you may have an option to disable https.

    But if you are going to be serving up customers, you should purchase a ssl certificate and ask your provider to install it for you. Once installed, your https links will work just fine. You can get plenty of economical certs for merely 15 bux or so for the year.

    There is no special location for https, it merely uses the ssl port which would be available once installed. Keep in mind, you will also need a dedicated IP for this. Your provider should know that so it shouldn't be an issue.
     
  3. webarton

    webarton Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you! Yes, "My Account" is a user osc account. I think it's better to use SSL.

    Does your provider means a hosting service?
    I'm using wiserhosting. It says the server is Free 128 bit SSL secure server.

    and I use CPanel 11. I found a manual about SSL/TLS Manager. It says "The first step in generating an SSL certificate is to create a Private Key." but I couldn't follow the manual!

    http://www.cpanel.net/docs/cpanel/cp11/cPanel-11-User-Manual.htm

    The first step should be "1. Click on the "Generate, view, upload, or delete your private keys" link." But I don't have a such link. ...I guess I'm misunderstanding.
     
  4. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes, I mean "your hosting provider"

    You will need to generate a private key based on the information you enter on the form. This key will be available to your provider to generate your free certificate ( if I understand your previous post correctly ).

    Either way, you should contact your hosting support and let them set this up if they are offering you a certificate.
     
  5. nottheusual1

    nottheusual1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You are in WHM, then.

    Go into the Cpanel for the DOMAIN you are wanting to work on. Then you will see the options you are looking for in the SSL/TLS section.

    The instructions will make much more sense.................

    BTW - good choice on the OSCommerce thing - we've used if for years now and it's kind of grown on us.
     
  6. webarton

    webarton Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello jayh38 and nottheusual1.

    Thank you so much for your advice.

    It's embarrasing to say but actually I've still stuck. I'm sure I logged in CPanel 11 for the DOMAIN I'm wanting to work on but couldn't find the SSL/TLS section...
    I'm asking to my hosting provider but I hadn't been replied yet.

    I'll post the result.
    Thank you again.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,470
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you don't see the link, it may be unchecked in the Feature manager in WHM. You might also check in Tweak Settings to see if this option is checked;
    Allow cPanel users to install SSL Hosts if they have a dedicated ip.
     
  8. webarton

    webarton Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Infopro. Thank you for your advice.

    I checked and examined again. But there was no solution.
    Finally I asked customer support of hosting service.
    The customer support just gave me a URL which is in SSL mode.

    And I succeed to access in SSL mode!
    I wonder where the solution was written, but it's ok.
    I just got over the first difficulty of osCommerce.

    Thank you again, jayh38, nottheusual1, Infopro.
    I'll study more about osCommerce.
     
  9. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Glad you got it sorted out.
     
Loading...

Share This Page