The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can i disable apache log?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by charliesxia, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. charliesxia

    charliesxia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    too many of them.and it uesless to me.It generates over 1G log files in domlogs directory.
    The server is getting slower.
    I am trying to edit the httpd.conf file. And every virtual host has log setting.
    Can I disable all domain apache logs?
    Thanks
     
  2. vdsonawane

    vdsonawane Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    you don't need to disable apache log

    You don't need to be disable apache log. you can do only empty the files under the directory domlogs, which is using more space then you will get more space availale .
    fire the command as following to empty file :

    echo > filename

     
  3. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Or even better logrotate the logfiles. I do it every 24 hours and keeping 1 week gzipped backups. That keeps the domlogs dir low in size and apache/stats to run fast.
     
  4. charliesxia

    charliesxia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i add some ### infront fo the comm setting in the httpd.conf
    seemed that the apache stop build all log files in the domlogs.nice!!
    I thinks it is better than rotate the logfiles,reduce the some work for apache ,which will run faster than before.
     
  5. rvskin

    rvskin Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    But the Awstats and others will not be able to generate the report also as there is no data.
     
  6. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i think that by commenting the customlog entry of a vhost, will make it log into the default apache access_log (/usr/local/apache/logs/acces_log )

    If that is your case, apart from commenting every customlog entry, you need to redirect de default access_log to /dev/null
     
  7. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    True, but there are alot of customers that do their own logging, and don;'t need more stats from awstats :)

    to disable secific customers, edit the Customlog entry to point to /dev/null
     
  8. activa

    activa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morocco
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    how chould i disable apache2 all logs . or rotate th logs every 12 hours ?

    please with instruction .
     
  9. oldengine

    oldengine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    <<BUMP>>

    I have two domains that go over the 2G filesize in domlogs.

    As the user above, I would like to rotate logs avery day, keeping two or three zipped days as a trail.

    Colorful system log reporting is no longer important. I use grep when sifting for trouble.
     
Loading...

Share This Page