The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I kill this: update_db_cache

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by driverC, Dec 6, 2013.

  1. driverC

    driverC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I have a process running:

    10367 root 34 9 72304 1236 808 R 96.0 0.1 25614:22 /usr/local/cpanel/bin/update_db_cache

    At first I thought I would just wait it out but now this process has been running for almost 18 days at 100% CPU. Is this the process that creates the database for the "locate" command? If I kill the process will it lose it's progress?

    Thanks,
    Sebastian
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The process is likely hanging. It's used for several purposes, including to calculate disk space for databases. I recommend killing the process, and then running the command again manually to make sure it completes successfully:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/update_db_cache
    Thank you.
     
  3. driverC

    driverC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you. I killed the process and ran it manually and after about 2 minutes it was done. I hope everything worked correctly since the command did not return any output.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page