Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

can I modify cpbackup so it doesn't zip?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by chilihost, Jul 23, 2006.

  1. chilihost

    chilihost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I have a server with 2 disks, equal size. The second is used for backups. The server hosts only 1 website and the disk used by that website is now >50% of the disk size.

    So, I can no longer use cpbackup since it copies the site to the 2nd disk and when zipping it, it runs out of space.

    Does anyone know how I can stop the zipping process? This would cure the problem for me. Or alternatively, can anyone suggest a different way of backing up the one site? Maybe a cron job?

    thanks!
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Look in your cpanel backup config. Try setting up incremental backup. This will only copy over files that have been changed and not the entire account, to your backup drive.
     
  3. chilihost

    chilihost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    problem with incremental backup is that you still need to get that initial one done, now the site is too big to get the initial backup copied and then zipped.
     
  4. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    you can do a search on rsync command and mirror hda to hdb
     
  5. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    I have this same problem, and it looks like the cpanel backup utility is worthless in this situation.

    If you find a solution, be sure to post it into this thread...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. chilihost

    chilihost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    incremental backup seems to be working for this
     
  8. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Unless you are using the FTP option, in which case incremental backup does not work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice