Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Can i offload some data/work to external server?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by postcd, May 4, 2014.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hello,

    when having WHM server, can i anyhow use other external server of mine (there is no WHM on it) to do some CPU/RAM/DISK job on it taking away load off my primary WHM server? I cant edit my customer sites. Thx
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 postcd, May 4, 2014
    Last edited: May 4, 2014
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You're going to have to be more specific, as this topic is too broad. In general, yes, you can offload certain services, like MySQL.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,809
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    This is called "Load Balancing" and you will find several threads if you search for that term on our forums.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Unfortunatelly i did not found any topic that answer my question.
    I can ask this on any linux forum, but i want compatibility with WHM? Regarding MySQL as Vanessa introduce, i see this option is in WHM, i will learn mroe about it. are there any othe roptions?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,809
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    cPanel currently supports clustering for DNS purposes only. There is support to host your databases on a remote MySQL server, however beyond that, there are no native options that allow for mirroring of your websites or load balancing. I recommend searching our forums for "load balancing" and "high availability" for custom solutions that other users may have implemented. There are lots of discussions about the best ways to do this. EX:

    Load Balancing Between 2 cPanel Servers
    Load Balancing
    Load Balancing Servers
    cPanel Load Balanced Servers

    Also, feel free to add your input to the following active feature requests:

    Active Redundancy or High Availability
    Build in Load Balancing

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice