The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I run cPanel on OpenStack to get high availibility?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LTOTH, Dec 20, 2015.

  1. LTOTH

    LTOTH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Our company has two locations. I would like to run a cPanel server that has high availability so if one location goes down our email and web hosting will stay online. Since this is not currently available natively in cPanel I was wondering if I could achieve high availability by installing cPanel on an OpenStack cluster?

    If so...could someone please explain how the replication of files between the servers takes place? Also...I don't have any experience with OpenStack...can I achieve high availability with only two servers or do I need more than two?

    Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    cPanel currently supports clustering for DNS purposes only. There is support to host your databases on a remote MySQL server, however beyond that, there are no native options that allow for mirroring of your websites or automatic replacement of a network/IP address if the event another fails. I recommend searching our forums for "mirroring" and "high availability" for custom solutions that other users may have implemented. There are lots of discussions about the best ways to do this. EX:

    Load Balancing
    Load Balancing Servers
    cPanel Load Balanced Servers

    Also, feel free to add your input to the following active feature requests:

    Active Redundancy or High Availability
    Built-in load balancing, replication, high availability | cPanel Feature Requests

    Thank you.
     
  3. LTOTH

    LTOTH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thank you for your reply. I will take a look at the links that you have provided.

    I was under the impression that it did not matter what cPanel supported natively because from it's perspective I would be simply installing it on a standard Linux server even though it was being installed on a virtual Linux instance that was running on OpenStack in high availability mode.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can install cPanel on the OpenStack environment, however there's no native support for high availability or replication in the cPanel software itself. You can find some informative comments on the following feature request:

    Application Container Support

    Thank you.
     
  5. LTOTH

    LTOTH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Yes, that is my point. I don't know much about OpenStack but I was under the impression that it was managing the high availability independent of cPanel's native features.

    I first became aware of OpenStack when I was talking to BlueHost (our hosting provider) a few weeks ago and the tech mentioned that they were now running cPanel on Openstack. It seems like they are now promoting high availability as a feature of their cloud based hosting.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    since you are talking about "Our company has two locations" open stack may not help your with this unless you have anycast IP address's.

    We have been running a HA on our company server set up for quite a number of years Its not that hard to set up and depending on your needs how elaborate you want to go.
     
Loading...

Share This Page