The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can reseller account limited by both number and resources?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by h4f, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. h4f

    h4f Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can someone confirm that if you enable

    Account Creation Limits

    Limit the amount of accounts user can create by number to 50 accounts.

    Limit Accounts that user can create by Resource Usage.
    50 MB bandwith overselling enabled
    5 MB diskspace overselling enabled

    That this account can have maximum of 50 that can not utilized more then 50 MB bandwith and 5 mb diskspace?

    I have users getting around the above setting, so I wonder if they both work if they are enabled both. Or is this a bug?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You enabled overselling, therefore users are able to create accounts which exceed these limits. The overselling functionality is designed for web hosting providers who wish to allow their resellers to be aware of the limits of their server resources, but be permitted to exceed those limits as needed (typically with something in the contract that they would be billed for such overages).

    If you disable overselling, the entirety of the reseller account could not allocate a total (all accounts combined) of more than 50 MB bandwidth, 5 MB disk space.
     
  3. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My resellers are also permited to go over the limit of account number limit that is set... :confused:

    I don't think that is a normal behavior...

    Can someone please explain this.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the checkbox next to that limit is checked, then that would not be normal behavior. Please submit a support ticket so someone can take a look at that: http://tickets.cpanel.net/submit
     
  5. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, that is checked I attached screenshot now...

    I just created a new reseller account to test this and limited number of accounts to 2 and I succesfully created 3 accounts in that reseller WHM panel... :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Bloory

    Bloory Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is the problem I mentioned in another thread, without any resolution.

    I want my resellers to be able to create x accounts and be monitored on y disk space and z transfer used (rather than allocated).

    Do I really need to reconcile each one at the end of the month???

    Thanks,
     
  7. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem is "Super Privs" ACL option "Account Modification".

    If that option is enabled for reseller account it will be able to go over accound number limit. Support explained me that is how it should be, but I don't see any logic in that... :( Why would option "Account Modification" allow unlimited account creation... :)
     
  8. Bloory

    Bloory Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That's great, I can resolve my issue now. Like you, I think it is odd (especially as this will result in users having to submit tickets to adjust accounts etc but I can live with it)
     
  9. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it's stupid, but as you said we can live with it...

    I hope someone from cPanel will eventually realise this and change this behavior...
     
Loading...

Share This Page