Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Can we "Change Hostname" to any ? if we only access by IP.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by taotoon, Jun 11, 2005.

  1. taotoon

    taotoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Main >> Server Setup >> Change Hostname


    I would like to learn setting with WHM.

    Can we change hostname to any unregistered domain ? or xxx.microsoft.com ?
    ( IF we only access WHM by main IP. )
    Are there any side effects ?

    Thanks for advance.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You'll have a lot of problem sending email as many MTA's check that your hostname resolves correctly. There really should be no valid reason to not to set your hostname to a FQDN.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. taotoon

    taotoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I see.

    Can I set to the exist FQDN ? ex: my friend's server


    It use for check the email only ?
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    As long as the hostname you choose resolves to your server's IP, there shouldn't be a problem (as far as I understand things).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 webignition, Jun 11, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2005
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Since you'll be primarily using this server for email, you need to use your own hostname that resolves to your own IPs, otherwise you'll run into many problems.

    The question is, why you don't you want to use your own hostname?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. taotoon

    taotoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Nothing, Just check my theory about hosting and work flow. I am very new for hosting.


    IP and DNS seem to be most important things.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice